Motorcycle License in Vermont
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:If you are a Vermont resident and decide that you'd like to experience the open road from the seat of a motorcycle, you must first obtain a motorcycle learner permit from the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles. To aid this process, be sure to get your hands on the downloadable Motorcycle Licensing Guide and Operator's Manual. It is chock-full of every state rule and regulation that you will need to know to pass all licensing tests.
You must be at least 16 years old. If you are 16 or 17, make sure you first own a junior operator license before applying. You will also need a parent or legal guardian to sign your motorcycle learner permit application. You can obtain this application at any DMV location throughout the state. You may also download the form.
If you are over 17, you must own a Vermont driver license before applying for a motorcycle learner permit. Then:
- Schedule a testing time at any statewide DMV location. The written test will consist of 25 questions, and you must correctly answer at least 20 to pass. If you fail the test, you must wait at least one day before scheduling another attempt.
- Pay a $7 test fee.
Learner Permit Liberties
After passing the written test you will be issued a motorcycle learner permit, which is valid for 120 days. During this period you can call (802) 828-2085 to schedule a road test at any time.
If you feel like you are not ready to test during this time, you can renew your permit for another 120 days free of charge at any DMV location. You will only be allowed two free renewals.
Keep in mind that road testing is limited, if it's performed at all, during the winter months, so plan accordingly when applying for your permit.
With the permit you will be allowed to ride anywhere within state, but only during daylight hours and by yourself. No passengers are allowed.
The state's Vermont Rider Education Program provides hands-on riding instructions. The course is not required, but it is recommended―especially for riders attempting to pass their first motorcycle road test.
As stated above, Vermont's downloadable Motorcycle Licensing Guide and Operator's Manual provides extremely detailed information about all the rules and regulations you will need to know during the road exam.
When testing, be sure to bring:
- Your motorcycle learner permit
- A Department of Transportation (DOT) approved helmet
- Proper goggles
- Valid insurance card
- Your regular Vermont driving license
- Proper registration
Though not mandatory, it will work to your benefit if you wear proper riding clothing: leather gloves, riding jacket, and over-the-ankle boots or shoes. Do not arrive in sneakers or you will not be tested.
The test consists of seven exercises designed to measure your ability to handle a bike, your riding judgment, and your response skills.
The motorcycle endorsement costs $2 per year in addition to your regular driver license fees. Should you pass the road test, you will be given the option of registering for a two-year endorsement to your normal driver license ($4) or a four-year endorsement ($8).
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.