Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Vermont
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Vermont residents who hold a motorcycle license to operate their bikes must be able to take financial responsibility should an accident occur. That means you must be able to prove you could cover the cost of damages (either to property or people) if you have any part in an accident.
Most riders find it easier to fulfill this financial responsibility law by purchasing liability insurance. But the state does offer you a couple more options.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
As stated above, liability insurance policies purchased through a licensed provider is the choice many riders go with. But here are all the ways you can establish financial responsibility:
- Purchase a motorcycle liability policy.
- Purchase a surety bond in the same amounts you see in the section below titled "Vermont Insurance Requirements for Motorcycles."
- Prove you are self-insured in the amount of $115,000. You must file this with the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles.
Two-Wheeled Vehicles Defined
Not every two-wheeled vehicle requires insurance coverage in this state. But if you ride a motorcycle or a moped you are subject to all state laws that regulate motor vehicles. There is a difference between these two types of bikes, and that could mean a difference in what you’ll pay for insurance.
Read the following to determine whether you ride a motorcycle or a moped, or for even better clarification, consult the detail chart in Part I-12 of the state’s motorcycle manual.
- Motorcycle―A motor-driven vehicle that:
- Travels with no more than three wheels on the ground.
- Has a seat or a saddle for the rider
- Is not a moped, golf cart, track-driven vehicle, tractor or a vehicle that contains its operator and passengers inside an enclosed cab.
- Moped―A motor-driven cycle that has:
- Either two or three wheels.
- A direct or automatic power-drive system (the operator should not have to clutch or shift after the drive system is engaged).
- Foot pedals for propulsion.
- A power source that has a max of two-brake horsepower and a max piston (or rotor) displacement of 50 cubic centimeters (cc) if a combustion engine is used. This can propel the cycle not more than 30 mph on a flat surface.
If you need further information about whether your two-wheeled vehicle requires registration and insurance, contact the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at (802) 828-2000 or the DMV's Insurance Department at (802) 828-2050.
The state’s liability insurance minimums for a motorcycle include:
- $25,000 for injury/death to any one person
- $50,000 for injuries/deaths for two or more people
- $10,000 for damages to property in any one accident
Typically you will see these values referred to as 25/50/10.
At the very least you will need to purchase the minimums stated above to fulfill Vermont’s financial responsibility law. But if you have other assets you would like to protect, you might consider purchasing more coverage. Research the various types of coverage before you make your decision.
After you read up on what’s out there, it’s to your advantage to shop around for a competitive rate. With so many providers that want your business, it should not be hard to get a motorcycle policy that suits your needs.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
Not all states require a helmet, sometimes depending on your coverage. But in Vermont, that is just not the case.
Regardless of the amount of insurance coverage a rider carries, any person who operates (or rides as a passenger) on state highways must wear a helmet. More specifically riders and passengers must wear “head protective headgear reflectorized in part and of a type approved by the Commissioner.” Note that this helmet must also be equipped with a neck strap or a chinstrap.
Approved motorcycle protective headgear meets the specifications set out by the Motorcycle, Scooter, and Allied Trades Association, the America Standards Association Inc., Z90.1, or the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, 218. Be sure when you are helmet shopping that you ask whether the helmet you wish to purchase is Commissioner-approved.
Once you purchase a motorcycle policy through an insurance company authorized to business in Vermont, it will give you proof of insurance; at the very least the provider will give you an insurance identification card.
This company should also immediately file proof with the Commissioner. It will do so either using a certificate or any computer-generated means acceptable to the Commissioner. Double check that your proof gets filed.
You will want to keep your motorcycle insurance identification card on the bike (or on you) at all times. You will need it:
- During the registration process.
- During any motorcycle inspections.
- In the event of an accident.
- In case you get pulled over by a law enforcement officer. (You have 15 days to provide the officer with proof if you don’t have it on you when you get stopped.)
The state requires these cards to include:
- The name of your insurance carrier.
- The effective and expiration dates of coverage.
- Your name, as the insured.
- Your motorcycle’s description, including the identification number.
- The limits of liability (or a statement that your policy covers the minimum liability insurance required by VT law).
The specifics regarding surety bonds can get tricky, so to find out more on establishing financial responsibility and submitting proof using one of these, consult the state site.
Having no proof of insurance just won't work in Vermont. When you go to the DMV to register your bike, you must show proof of insurance. If allow your coverage to lapse after you have submitted proof to the state, you could be issued a civil traffic citation along with:
- A fine.
- Added points on your driving record (against your driving privileges or license).
- The requirement to file financial responsibility insurance with the VT DMV (read the next section for more info).
If you fail to maintain financial responsibility (and you get caught), you could lose your license over:
- Being involved in or fleeing a collision.
- Riding under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Riding so recklessly that you kill another person.
- Riding under a suspended license.
Financial Responsibility Insurance
Financial responsibility insurance covers you (the individual) rather than your bike or vehicle. With this type of coverage, you are covered when operating any vehicle regardless of whether you own it.
If the state declares you must maintain this type of insurance, you will have to provide proof to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. You will also have to maintain coverage (and filing) for a minimum of three years. Allowing it to lapse will cause you to get your motorcycle license and riding privileges suspended.
Additionally, you will not be able to reinstate your license until you have once again filed valid financial responsibility coverage with the Commissioner.
When it comes to filing financial responsibility insurance, the Commissioner only accepts certain documents―an SR-22 certificate being one of them. You must obtain the SR-22 certificate from your insurance company, not your insurance agent.
In This Section
Other Topics in This Section
- Auto Insurance Requirements
Vermont car insurance information center. What insurance to buy in Vermont, how to decide, compare policies, purchase VT car insurance.
- Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements
VT financial responsibility requirements for your moped, atv, scooter or motorcycle. Protect your bike and your liability in Vermont by purchasing motorcycle insurance.
- Commercial Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
Commercial vehicle insurance requirements in VT. Protect your rig or your fleet by maintaining proper financial responsibility on your commercial vehicles in Vermont.
- Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
Learn More On Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In Your State. No Insurance Violations Vary By State. Avoid Allowing You Car Insurance Policy To Lapse.
Insurance Resource Center
- Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Top Reasons To Buy Insurance Coverage
- Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Buying Car Insurance Basics
- Buying Car Insurance For Teens
- Teen Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Get Car Insurance Coverage With A Learners Permit
- First Time Drivers Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Save Money On Teen Car Insurance
- Common Driving Mistakes Teens Make
- Safe Driving Tips For Teenage Drivers
- Safe Cars For Teen Drivers
- How To Add Teens To Your Auto Insurance Policy
- Tips for Car Insurance Policy Holders
- Types Of Auto Insurance Coverage
- Buying Car Insurance For Seniors
- Senior Guide To Car Insurance
- Extended Insurance Coverage Guide
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Auto Insurance Coverage
- When To Buy Rental Car Insurance
- How To Cover Vandalism Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Auto Theft Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Windshield Repair Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Accidents With Wildlife Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Lost Wages Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Medical Expenses Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Pet Injuries Through Car Insurance
- How To Avoid Auto Insurance Non Renewal
- Commercial Auto Insurance Requirements
- Commercial Auto Insurance State Requirements
- Federal Motor Carrier Insurance
- CDL Federal Requirements
- Commercial Insurance Filing
- State Commercial Insurance Filings
- Federal Truck Filings
- Intrastate Truck Filings
- Interstate Transportation Filings
- Certificate Of Insurance
- Uniform Carrier Registration Plan
- Types Of Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discounts
- Multiple Policy Discount For Commercial Vehicles
- Paid In Full Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discount
- Commercial Business Experience Discount
- Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes
- Commercial Auto Insurance Articles
- Who Needs Commercial Auto Insurance
- Types Of Commercial Vehicles To Insure
- How To Save Money On Commercial Auto Insurance
- What You Need For A Commercial Insurance Quote
- Types Of Business Vehicle Insurance
- How To Compare Commercial Insurance Quotes
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage
- Types Of Commercial Trailers To Insure
- Online Commercial Auto Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Types Of Motorcycle Coverage
- Accessory Coverage For Motorcycles
- Comprehensive Physical Damage Insurance For Motorcycles
- Collision Insurance For Motorcycles
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Property Damage Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Medical Payments Insurance For Motorcycle Riders
- Personal Injury Protection Insurance For Motorcyclists
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Underinsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Motorcycle Roadside Assistance
- Motorcycle Insurance Quotes
- Motorcycle Insurance Rates
- Motorcycle Insurance Discounts
- Online Motorcycle Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Articles
- Motocross Insurance
- Dirt Bike Insurance
- Moped Insurance
- Trike Insurance
- Scooter Insurance
- Auto Insurance Deductible
- Auto Insurance Limit
- Auto Insurance Premium
- Auto Insurance Quote
- Auto Insurance Rates
- Motor Vehicle Report
- Proof Of Financial Responsibility
- Auto Insurance Endorsement
- Auto Insurance Exclusion
- Auto Insurance Rating
- Auto Insurance Code
- Auto Insurance Discounts
- Auto Insurance Glossary
- How To Obtain Proof Of Insurance
- How To Change Auto Insurance Providers
- Factors That Affect Insurance Rates
- How To Cancel An Auto Insurance Policy
- When An Accident Happens
- Accident Loss
- Auto Accident Payment Recovery
- Total Loss
- Proof of Loss
- Actual Cash Value
- Lost Wages
- Salvage Vehicles
- How To File An Accident Report With The Police
- Evaluating Personal Injury In Auto Accidents
- First Steps Following A Personal Injury Auto Accident
- When To Seek Medical Attention For Personal Injury
- Protection Against Auto Insurance Fraud
- How To Handle Staged Car Accidents
- Types of Insurance Claims
- Bodily Injury Claims
- Property Damage Claims
- Windshield Claims
- Third Party Insurance Claims
- About Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Claims Affect Your Auto Insurance Policy
- When To Cover Personal Injury With Auto Insurance
- How Much Personal Injury Protection To Buy
- Supplementing Health Insurance With Personal Injury Protection
- Pain And Suffering In Personal Injury Claims
- Statute Of Limitations And Personal Injury
- Negligence And Determining Legal Liability
- Auto Insurance Claim Settlements
- Auto Insurance Settlements Involving Personal Injury
- Proving Fault In An Auto Accident Personal Injury Case
- Compensation For Auto Accident Personal Injury Claims
- Tips For Settling A Motor Vehicle Accident Claim
- Factors That Affect Compensation In Personal Injury Claims
- Legal Representation For Insurance Claims
- When To Hire A Personal Injury Attorney
- When To Hire A Lawyer
- Personal Injury Attorney Fees
- How To Choose Personal Injury Lawyers
- Benefits of Hiring A Personal Injury Attorney
- What To Submit To A Personal Injury Attorney
- Processing Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Handle Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Investigate Accident Claims
- How To Document Auto Accident Damage
- When To Report An Auto Accident To The DMV
- Tips On Documenting Personal Injury Expenses
- Paying Medical Bills Before Receiving Personal Injury Compensation
- Wage Loss In Personal Injury Auto Accident Cases
- How To File A Loss Of Wages Auto Claim
- Stages Of A Personal Injury Case
- Filing Car Insurance Claims