Identification Cards in Vermont
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Though not mandatory, an identification card is highly recommended if you don't have a driver's license. It makes your life easier by not having to present your birth certificate or Social Security card whenever faced with a proof-of-identification situation such as applying for a car license or a passport. Plus, an identification card can be used to cash a check, board an airplane, check into a hotel, use a credit card, or, depending on your age, to buy alcohol or enter a bar.
Before applying, bear in mind that you must be a full-time Vermont resident. If you are a college student from out of state or a temporary in-state worker, you do not qualify. If you meet this precondition, you then must:
- Apply in person at any of Vermont's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offices. You cannot apply by mail or over the Internet.
- Provide one form of primary identification and one form of secondary identification to prove your identity and date and place of birth. The state is very strict about proper identification. If the DMV has any reason to doubt the validity of your ID, it may request additional proof.
- Pay a $20 processing fee ($10 if you receive Social Security Income (SSI) or Social Security Disability (SSD).
All identification cards are valid for four years. You are required by law to notify the DMV within 30 days of any name and/or address changes. You can do this either in person or via regular mail by sending changes to:
- Agency of Transportation
- Department of Motor Vehicles
- 120 State St.
- Montpelier, VT 05603-0001
The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will send you a computer-generated renewal notice approximately 30 days before your ID card is set to expire. ID cards are valid for four years after issue, and expire on your birthday.
In order to renew by mail, simply complete the attached form, and return it to the address indicated on the renewal notice, along with a check or money order for $20. If you are a Social Security Income recipient as a retired person or as a disabled person, the fee is $10.
The only exception to the mail-in renewal process is if you hold an ID card without a photograph, or if your last Vermont ID card photograph was taken before January 1, 2004. If this is the case, then you must apply for your renewal in person at your local DMV office.
You must visit any DMV office in person to apply for a duplicate ID card. You must provide:
- One primary and one secondary form of identification. Documents must be original. No copies accepted.
- Your date and place of birth.
- Cash or check to pay $15 replacement fee.
In early 2009, Vermont began issuing Enhanced Driver License and Identification Cards. These EDL/IDs must meet federal requirements. EDL/IDs are approved alternative documents to a passport for re-entry into the U.S. at land and sea borders between the U.S., Canada, Mexico, Bermuda, and the Caribbean.
American citizens must show an EDL/ID or a passport upon re-entry into the country at land and sea borders between U.S., Canada, Mexico, Bermuda, and Caribbean as of June 1, 2009.
EDL/IDs cost $25 in addition to the fee for a regular driver license or identification card. Applicants must also show proof of citizenship and residence.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.