Fight Traffic Ticket in VermontPage Overview
After getting a traffic ticket in Vermont, you must determine how you will plead: admitted, no contest or denied. Failing to respond to the court with your answer will lead to a suspended driver’s license. If you’ve misplaced the citation altogether, visit our page on lost VT traffic tickets.
- Pay the fine online or by mail
- Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation)
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates
- No option to take defensive driving course to reduce points
Learn more about
Paying your Traffic Ticket »
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Contest traffic ticket in court
- Choose to represent yourself during trial or hire an attorney
- Possible option to plea bargain for lesser penalties
- No penalties if found guilty, but must pay court/attorney fees
Learn more below
If you want to deny the traffic ticket charges, you can state your case before a judge. You’ll be granted a hearing once the court receives your answer of “Denied” in writing along with the cop’s documentation. Then you can tell your side of the story, present any witnesses and discuss why you are disputing the charges. You might consider consulting a traffic ticket attorney to help you prepare and present your case. For full details on the process, keep reading.
The other alternative, pleading guilty, means paying the traffic ticket. The state makes it easy by offering an online payment option, or you can pay by meal. After admitting guilt or pleading no contest, the state will add points to your driving record for the violation(s), and you could see an increase in your auto insurance rate. For full details on the steps you need to take, visit our page on Vermont traffic ticket payment.
You must notify the Vermont Judicial Bureau in writing of your decision to contest the traffic ticket. Simply check the “Denied” box on the actual citation and mail it to the listed address within 20 days of getting pulled over. You can find full details on the back of the white copy of your VT traffic ticket.
As long as the court receives your answer in time, you are in good shape to proceed with your dispute. Otherwise, missing that 20-day window results in a default judgment, automatic points on your driving record and an obligation to pay the citation plus an additional $20 late fee. On top of that, you could get your driver’s license suspended.
Receive Hearing Notification
Once the VT Judicial Bureau receives your answer in writing and the law enforcement agent’s paperwork, it will set a hearing date and mail you a letter. This notification will include details on where and when you need to show up in person. Don’t assume you can just go before a judge without a scheduled hearing.
When stating your case before a judge, you might feel more comfortable with the help of a traffic ticket attorney. You’re best bet is to chat with one about your case and see if hiring legal counsel is a sensible route for you and your budget. During your interview process, be sure you look for a traffic ticket lawyer that who knows the ins and outs of Vermont traffic court and has a great handle on VT traffic laws.
Keep in mind that during your hearing, the law enforcement officer who cited you will also be stating his case against you. Therefore, you want to be well prepared. This includes subpoenaing any witnesses to testify ahead of time. Also make sure you have ironed out the facts of your case and any uncertainty about the whole process before your hearing date. Being well prepared with a solid case will help diminish any feelings of intimidation you might have.
Once you and the cop offer your sides of the story, the judge will render a verdict. If you’re found not guilty and the charges are dropped, you won’t have to pay the ticket but instead will likely still have to pay court fees of some sort (and of course, your attorney fees if applicable).
If you are found guilty, points will be added to your driving record and the judge will inform you of how much you owe. This amount is also shown on the judgment itself (the paper you receive at the end of the hearing). You must pay the amount within 30 days; otherwise a $30 fee will be added to the judgment amount.
Following a traffic citation, it’s wise to check your driving record. In other words, whether you are found guilty or not, be sure the state record of your points is accurate. Once you give the court time to process the verdict, double check that the points you see on file correctly add up. Additional points could mean increased auto insurance rates and getting one step closer to driver’s license suspension.Instant Vermont Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record. Each record may include suspensions, points, classifications, vital data, endorsements, expiration and driving status.
If you’re found guilty and you’ve paid your ticket fees and court fines, inquire with your auto insurance company on how the additional driving record points will affect your rates. Because points stay on your record for up to three years, you could see an increase in your insurance premium the next time you renew your policy. Get ahead of the added expense by shopping online to compare auto insurance rates.Compare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:Other Topics in This SectionRecommended Articles Next Prev
- 5 Important Steps If You Lost Your Drivers License
- I-94 Forms and Arriving in the U.S.
- What to do if the Colorado Floods Damaged Your Car
- 9 Urgent Must-Dos If You Lose Your Driver’s License
- 7 Reasons Student Drivers Fail Their Written Permit Exam
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard
- Traveling With Pets Part 4: Pit Stops and Potty Breaks
- August 30-Day Green Challenge: Navy Showers
- Traveling With Pets Part 3: Keep Pets Calm and Relaxed
- Traveling With Pets Part 2: Pet Safety in the Vehicle
- What if I have a VT CDL and get a traffic ticket?
- Why is it a good idea to order a driving record?
- What is the cost of my Vermont traffic ticket?
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- Contesting an Out-of-State Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket Myths: What’s Fact and What’s Fiction?
- Using Witnesses When Fighting a Traffic Ticket
- The Pros and Cons of Fighting a Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket and DUI Penalties for Commercial Drivers
Can't find something? Let us help you find it!