DUI Attorneys in Vermont
Think about hiring a DUI attorney in Vermont if you're facing a charge for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugsâ€”also known as driving while intoxicated (DWI). A lawyer may be able to have your penalties reduced.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
Read this page to learn more about how a Vermont DUI attorney can help you.
When you're picking a DUI attorney to represent you in Vermont court, keep the following tips in mind:
- Stick to a local lawyer.
- You want an attorney that has a lot of knowledge of Vermont DUI laws and the court system.
- Hire an attorney with experience in similar DUI cases.
- Ask anyone you know if they have a DUI attorney they can recommend.
- Make sure you can afford your DUI attorney.
- Ask for fees and payment deadlines before you make your decision.
- Consult a number of DUI attorneys.
- Initial consultations are usually free; keep your options open and compare DUI attorneys based on their expertise, outcomes, and price.
Even though a DUI attorney comes with an additional cost in Vermont, hiring one can save you money and stress in the long term. A VT DUI lawyer can:
- Plea bargain with the judge to reduce your charges.
- Handle the entire court process for you, including representing you in court.
- Explain your charges and what you have to do to meet court requirements.
Ask your DUI attorney how they will help and support you before, during, and after your court hearing.
DUI cases vary in Vermont, so you'll want to make sure your DUI attorney can handle your specific type of case. You can be charged with a DWI or an alcohol-related offense for:
- Driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher.
- 0.02% or higher, if you're younger than 21 years old.
- 0.04% or higher, if you're a commercial driver.
- Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
Visit our DWI in Vermont page to learn more about DUI charges.
Committing a DWI in Vermont usually results in harsh penalties from both the court and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). For your 1st offense, penalties include:
- A suspension of your VT driver's license.
- Plus additional fees to have it reinstated.
- Jail time of up to 2 years.
- A fine of up to $750.
- Enrollment in an Alcohol and Driving Education Program.
If you've committed more than one DUI offense, your penalties and fees will be higher and you'll definitely want to consider hiring a DUI attorney.
Visit our DUI & DWI in Vermont page to learn more about the fines and penalties associated with a DUI charge.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!