Disability Plates and Placards in Vermont
Read below for more information about disability placards and plates in Vermont.
Types of Vermont Disability Permits
If you have a disability, you may qualify for a disabled parking placard or plate from the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
The state offers the following options for placards and plates, depending upon the nature of your disability:
- Temporary disability placards.
- Permanent disability placards.
- Permanent disability license plates, if you have:
- A permanent disability.
- A car registered in your name.
- A permanent disability.
Disability Parking Regulations
The disability license plates and placards issued by the Vermont DMV allow you to:
- Park in marked disabled parking spots.
- Park beyond the time limit in spots that have time restrictions.
- Receive assistance at gas stations displaying the international disability symbol.
You CANNOT park anywhere that standard parking is not allowed.
Your handicap placard or plate can be used ONLY when you are the driver or passenger of the vehicle.
Traveling with Disabilities
If you are visiting from out of state, you do not need a local disability placard or plate, as Vermont recognizes all placards and plates from all other states.
If you have a VT placard or plate, you can use it in any other state; however, you are always subject to the parking laws and regulations of the state you are in. They may differ from the regulations in Vermont.
Apply for Vermont Disability Parking
You can apply for a handicapped parking placard or license plate from the VT DMV by mail or in person.
To apply for a temporary disability placard, you will need the Vermont Temporary Disabled Parking Placard Application and Medical Form (Form TA-VL-38), with the medical certification section to be completed by a healthcare professional.
To apply for a permanent disability placard, you will need:
- The Disabled Parking Placard Application (Form TA-VD-120).
- The Universal Medical Evaluation/Progress Report Form (Form TA-VS-113), which must be completed by a healthcare professional.
To apply for a disability license plate, you must:
- Have both a permanent disability and a car registered in your name.
- Complete the:
Disability parking placards are free. If you apply for a handicap license plate, you will need to pay standard registration fees.
Submit your application either:
- By mail to the address on the form.
- In person at a DMV office.
Renew Disabled Placards & Plates
All handicap parking placards expire after a specified time period:
- Temporary placards: Valid for up to 6 months.
- Permanent placards: Valid for 4 years.
- Disability license plates: Renewed on the 3rd registration renewal.
Temporary disability placards CANNOT be renewed. If you still need your placard, you must re-apply. See Apply for Vermont Disability Parking above.
Permanent handicapped placards can be renewed by submitting:
- A new Disabled Parking Placard Application (Form TA-VD-120).
- A new Universal Medical Evaluation/Progress Report Form (Form TA-VS-113).
NOTE: You DO NOT need a new medical certification IF your original medical form indicates that your disability will not change or improve.
Disability license plates require:
- Vehicle registration renewal.
- Disability status recertification on the 3rd registration renewal:
- Submit a new Universal Medical Evaluation/Progress Report Form (Form TA-VS-113).
- Medical re-certification is waived if your original certification states that your disability is not reversible.
Disability placard renewal is free. License plate renewal requires standard registration fees.
Disability placard and plate renewal can be submitted by mail to the address on the form OR in person at a VT DMV office.
Replace a Disability Placard/Plate in VT
If your parking placard has been lost, stolen, or destroyed, you can request a free replacement by completing a new Disabled Parking Placard Application (Form TA-VD-120):
- Be sure to include your previous parking placard number when completing the application.
- Submit the replacement request by mail or in person to the VT DMV.
If your license plate has been lost, stolen, or damaged, see our Vermont license plate page for replacement information.