- Location: Vermont
Changing Your Address in Vermont
Changing your address?
Perfect time to compare car insurance rates.
1. Start Your Quote:
Vermont law requires that you notify the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 30 days of changing your mailing and/or physical address. The state aids in the process by giving you two easy options by which to submit a change.
This represents your fastest option. All you must do is log on to the DMV Express service. It will then ask for your identification number, which is well marked on your license. After punching this in, you will find a link that will easily guide you through the change-of-address process. And don't worry, you won't be slapped by an unexpected processing fee for filing electronically.
Note: Submitting your address change online will only update the information in the Department of Motor Vehicles' computer system―your driver's license itself will not be updated. If you want the change to appear on your license, you will have to also file for a duplicate license and pay a $15 processing fee.
If you feel uneasy about filing electronically, you can instead download a change of address form in PDF format. This method has the advantage that the form is the same one you'd use to order a duplicate license.
Therefore, you have the option to change the address the DMV has on file for you and get a new license with your correct address at the same time. For a $15 duplicate license fee, you can do both (if you don't want a new license, changing your address is free).
After filling the form out, mail it (along with a $15 check, if you're ordering a new license) to:
- Department of Motor Vehicles
- 120 State St.
- Montpelier, VT 05603-0001