Menu

Applying for a New License (Drivers 18+) in Vermont

DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver

Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It’s like having the answers before you take the test.

  • Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
  • Just print and go to the DMV
  • Driver's License, Motorcycle & CDL
  • 100% Money Back Guarantee

Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet

Apply for a Vermont Driver's License

In Vermont, you need to apply for a driver's license through the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Depending on your situation, the application process will vary.

If it's a commercial driver's license (CDL) you're after, visit our Applying for a New CDL in Vermont page.

If you're a teenager, you will need to complete the Vermont graduated driver’s licensing program before you will be eligible for your driver's license.

New to Vermont?

If you recently moved to, or are planning to move to Vermont, you'll need to start thinking about applying for a new driver's license.

To apply, visit your local VT DMV office with:

  • Proof of your:
    • Identity.
    • Date of birth.
    • Lawful status in the U.S.
    • Social Security number (SSN).
    • Vermont residential address.
      A full list of accepted documents can be found on the VT DMV website.
  • Your out-of-state driver's license.
  • A completed Enhanced License/ID Application (Form TA-VL-11), U.S. citizens only, if you want an enhanced driver's license (EDL).
    • See “Types of Driver's Licenses" below.
  • Payment for the required fees (see “Fees for a Driver's License in VT" below).

If you have a valid out-of-state driver's license or one that has been expired for 1 year or less, you must also pass an eye test and possibly the written knowledge test, but you won't need to pass the road test. Contact the VT DMV for more information.

You'll be expected to surrender your out-of-state driver's license when you apply for a driver's license in Vermont.

If you don't have your out-of-state driver's license with you or it has been expired for more than 1 year, you will be required to pass vision, written, and driving tests.

Non-U.S. Citizens

If you're a non-U.S. citizen and at least 18 years old, you can drive in Vermont using your foreign driver's license for up to 1 year. After this time, you must apply for a VT driver's license (see “ Apply for a Vermont Driver's License") below.

Excluding vehicles registered in Mexico and Canada, cars from certain countries must also display an International Distinguishing Sign. For more information about which countries are subject to this statute, and other steps you must take to legally operate an international vehicle in Vermont, visit the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website.

Types of Driver's Licenses

Enhanced Driver's License

An enhanced driver's license (EDL) has been enforced as part of the REAL ID Act to prevent any security threats and/or unlawful entry into the U.S. It also has advanced features to combat tampering or counterfeiting so you can breathe easier if happen to lose it.

The REAL ID Act allows you to use your Vermont EDL in place of a passport when crossing the border from Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean, or Bermuda (by land or sea only).

For more information about the REAL ID Act, read our article.

Apply for a Vermont Driver's License

To apply for a driver's license in Vermont, you must visit a VT DMV office in person. You cannot apply by mail or online.

You will need to:

  • Provide proof of your:
    • Identification.
    • Birth date.
    • Lawful U.S. presence. (You will need proof of your U.S. citizenship if applying for an EDL.)
    • Social Security number (SSN).
    • Vermont residency (2 documents required).
      Visit the VT DMV website for a complete list of accepted documents.
  • Submit a completed Enhanced License/ID Application (Form TA-VL-11)—U.S. citizens only—if you want an EDL.
  • Pass a:
    • Vision test.
    • Written knowledge exam.
    • Road test.
  • Have your photo taken.
  • Pay the appropriate fees (see “Fees for a Driver's License in VT" below).
Pass The Written Test On Your First Try

To help you prepare for the written exam, the DMV offers an interactive tutorial which seems very handy. However, if you want to ensure passing the exam on your first attempt, we suggest using an online practice test from our approved partner. You'll find more information below.

The Vermont DMV will send your driver's license or EDL to you within 2 weeks.

Fees for a Driver's License in VT

  • Driver's license (without exams):
    • $48 for 4 years.
    • $30 for 2 years.
  • Driver's license (with exams):
    • $66 for 4 years.
    • $48 for 2 years.
  • Transfer license from out of state:
    • $66 for 4 years.
    • $48 for 2 years.
  • Enhanced driver's license (EDL): Additional $25 on top of standard driver's license fees.
  • Road or eye exam: $18.

Related Content

Provide Feedback

Looking for Applying for a New License (Drivers 18+) in Another State?