- Location: Vermont
Accident Guide in VermontCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:The actions you take after an accident are often overlooked. Depending on the situation, what you say and do can save you money, and possibly lives.
Below are eight steps to help you legally, and safely, react to an auto accident:
- First and foremost, don't flee the scene. Doing so will lead to a migraine of legal hassles and forever stain your driving record. Vermont law stipulates that if you cause injury or damage you must stop, offer assistance, and dispense contact information.
- Move your vehicle, if possible, to the side of the road. This will help prevent approaching traffic from adding to the accident count.
- Assess. Dial 911 if someone is severely injured.
- Don't move the injured unless fire is involved or you are a medical professional.
- Exchange contact information with all involved. Also, if possible, secure the contact information of witnesses.
- Record as much information about the accident as possible, including time, exact location, names of streets, and road conditions. Take pictures, if possible. All information is good information when it comes to insurance claims.
- If you smack an unattended vehicle try to locate the owner. If unsuccessful leave a note containing your name, address, phone number, and date and time of the accident.
- If the accident involves injury, death, or damage exceeding $1,000 you must submit a crash report to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 72 hours of the mishap. This also applies to you if your car was the only vehicle involved and you were injured or topped the $1,000 damage mark.
- 5 Important Steps If You Lost Your Drivers License
- I-94 Forms and Arriving in the U.S.
- What to do if the Colorado Floods Damaged Your Car
- 9 Urgent Must-Dos If You Lose Your Driver’s License
- 7 Reasons Student Drivers Fail Their Written Permit Exam
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard