Suspended CDL in Virginia
Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions in Virginia
If your Virginia commercial driver’s license (CDL) is disqualified, suspended, or revoked by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you must satisfy your suspension requirements before it will be reinstated.
Your CDL can be disqualified for violations committed in both commercial and non-commercial vehicles, including:
- Reckless driving and speeding.
- DUI/DWI offenses and driving under the influence of drugs.
- Felonies involving your vehicle.
- Out-of-service order violations.
On this page you’ll find information about your CDL suspension and how to reinstate your license.
The duration of your CDL suspension, penalties, and reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense.
NOTE: In addition to any VA DMV requirements, you may also need to satisfy court requirements for criminal convictions.
Violations committed in a non-commercial vehicle can also result in a CDL disqualification. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Virginia page.
The Virginia DMV will suspend your CDL for:
- 1–3 years, for violations including:
- DUI and alcohol or drug offenses.
- Falsifying information to the VA DMV.
- Using a commercial vehicle in a felony.
- Life, if you a 2nd violation of any of the above offenses, or are convicted of manufacturing or distributing illegal drugs.
- 60–120 days if you’re convicted of 2 violations or more within 3 years and are deemed “serious violations,” including:
- Texting and driving.
- Following too closely.
- Reckless driving/erratic lane changes.
- Driving a commercial vehicle without a CDL, or driving without your CDL with you.
- Driving without the proper endorsements.
Additional Federal Penalties
In addition to Virginia state laws, you are also subject to federal regulations controlled by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), which include:
- Disqualifications and fines for violating out-of-service orders.
- Suspensions and disqualifications ranging from 60 days to life for violations and convictions including:
- Railroad-highway grade crossing violations.
- Reckless driving and excessive.
- DUI/DWI convictions and offenses.
- Leaving the scene of an accident you are involved in.
NOTE: You must notify your employer within 30 days of any traffic conviction.
For more information on federal regulations and penalties, please see the FMCSA website.
CDL Driving Record Points
You can also receive a CDL suspension for accumulating too many driving record points.
- You will receive a warning letter from the VA DMV, if you accumulate:
- 8 points in 12 months.
- 12 points in 24 months.
- Your CDL will be suspended for 90 days if you accumulate:
- 18 points in 12 months.
- 24 points in 24 months.
NOTE: After your suspension, you will be placed on a 6-month probation.
If you are under 20 years old and receive any moving violations, you must pass the commercial driving and knowledge exams again when you renew your CDL.
NOTE: Some violations may also require you to attend a commercial driver’s license improvement clinic.
Most commercial driver license violations, disqualifications, and revocations will remain on your Virginia DMV driving record permanently.
You can order your Virginia driving record to check the status of your CDL and see which violations are on your record.
You may be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Virginia if you:
- Operate a commercial vehicle in Virginia with a BAC of 0.04% or higher.
- Test positive for driving under the influence of drugs.
- Refuse a blood/breath blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
Your CDL can be disqualified for 60 days to life for any of the reasons above. Depending on the circumstances of your offense, your non-commercial driving privilege may not be affected.
For information about DUI charges resulting in the suspension of your non-commercial vehicle, visit our Suspended License in Virginia page.
Find a local attorney near you to help with your DUI license or CDL suspension.
In addition to DMV suspensions and penalties, you may also face criminal court penalties if you are charged with a DUI, including:
- Heavy fines.
- Jail time.
NOTE: Multiple alcohol/drug offenses will result in a permanent disqualification of your CDL.
For more information about DUI convictions in Virginia, please refer to the VA DMV DUI brochure.
Your CDL reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the reason for your suspension.
To reinstate your CDL, you may need to:
- Pay any applicable court fines.
- Provide an SR22 certificate of insurance from your insurance company, if necessary.
- Complete a commercial driver improvement clinic.
- Complete an Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP), for alcohol-related offenses.
- Pay your CDL licensing fee.
- Pay your reinstatement fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your VA CDL” below.)
You may also need to visit your local Virginia DMV office and:
- Provide identification, address and legal presence documents.
- Pass a commercial driver knowledge and driving skills test.
NOTE: Once you’ve satisfied your reinstatement requirements and paid your fees, the VA DMV will provide you with a clearance letter that confirms your CDL reinstatement.
For specific details your CDL suspension, complete a Compliance Summary Request on the Virginia DMV website. You’ll need to enter your:
- Driver’s license number or Social Security number (SSN).
- Date of birth.
In Virginia, you may be able to request a restricted driver’s license to use while your CDL is suspended.
NOTE: A restricted driver’s license can be used to drive a non-commercial vehicle to and from authorized locations only.You cannot operate a commercial vehicle with a restricted license.
To obtain a restricted driver’s license, you’ll need to:
- Provide documents that justify your need for a restricted license, which may include:
- A court order.
- Letters from your school, employer, or doctor.
- Gain approval from the court, if you received a court-ordered suspension.
If the court approves your restricted license request, you may need to visit your local VA DMV office with your:
- Required documents.
- Court documents.
- Reinstatement fees.
If your CDL was suspended by the Virginia DMV for violating your driver improvement probation period, you may be eligible for a restricted license if:
- It was your 1st probation violation.
- It was your 2nd probation violation and there was an 18-month control period before your probation.
Contact or visit your local Virginia DMV for more information about obtaining a restricted driver’s license.
Fees to reinstate your Virginia commercial driver’s license will vary depending on your offense.
- Licensing fee: $24 to $64.
- Reinstatement fees:
- $145 for offenses including:
- Out-of-service violations.
- Any drug violation.
- Railroad crossing violations.
- $175 for offenses including:
- Reckless driving.
- Driving with a disqualified/suspended/revoked license.
- Felonies involving a vehicle.
- $220 for offenses including:
- DUI or driving under the influence of drugs.
- Vehicular manslaughter.
- Any vehicle-related convictions/offenses involving alcohol or drugs.
- $145 for offenses including:
If you have multiple disqualifications/revocation orders on your commercial driver’s license, you will be charged an extra $5 for each subsequent order.
The Virginia DMV provides a complete list of offenses associated with the reinstatement fees above.
NOTE: Your reinstatement and suspension fees may vary depending on your specific circumstances. For details about your suspension, order your driving record or obtain a compliance summary on the Virginia DMV website.
Accepted Payment Methods
You may be able to pay your fees:
- Online through the Virginia DMV Now website.
- By mail to:
- Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
- P.O. Box 27412
- Richmond, VA 23269
- Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
- By calling:
- (804) 497-7100.
- (800) 272-9268 for TTY.
- In person at your local Virginia DMV office.
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles accepts the following forms of payment for reinstatement fees:
- Online: E-check or credit card.
- By mail: Check or money order.
- By phone: Credit card.
- In person: Cash, check, money order, or credit card.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!