Safety Laws in Virginia
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Helmets are required for all riders.
There is no statewide helmet law. However, the following jurisdictions do adhere to limited bicycle helmet laws based on age.
- Albemarle County
- City of Alexandria
- Amherst County
- Arlington County
- Clarke County
- City of Falls Church
- Floyd County
- City of Hampton
- James City County
- Town of Luray
- City of Manassas
- City of Manassas Park
- City of Norfolk
- Orange County
- City of Petersburg
- Prince William County
- Stafford County
- Town of Vienna
- Town of Wise
- York County
You must turn on your headlights:
- Between sunset and sunrise
- Whenever you use your windshield wipers
A modulating headlight is permitted for daytime use.
When riding between sunset and sunrise, your bicycle must be equipped with a white headlight that's visible from up to 500 feet. Your bicycle must also possess a red rear reflector visible from up to 600 feet.
Intermediate license holders (teen drivers) are banned from using cell phones while driving.
With a few exceptions, it's illegal for anyone to send an e-mail or text message while driving. If you're caught doing so, you'll receive a ticket and have to pay a $20 fine for the first offense ($50 for subsequent offenses). However, a law enforcement officer can't pull you over simply for texting or e-mailing; another offense must be involved.
You are permitted to send an e-mail or text message while driving if you're reporting an emergency situation.
- All kids under the age of eight must ride in a secured safety seat that's federally approved.
- Kids between eight and 15 must use a safety seat, booster seat, or seat belt.
- It is the driver's responsibility to make sure all kids 15 and under are properly secured.
Contact the Virginia State Police by dialing "#77" on your cell phone to report a drunk or dangerous driver. If possible provide the vehicle's license plate number, make, location and travel direction.
Call 911 if you suspect that an unattended child left in a locked vehicle is in danger. Remain at the vehicle until authorities arrive.
Call either the local police department or animal control unit if you sense that an unattended pet in a parked car is in danger. Provide the car's location, license plate number, make and model.
Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.