DUI Attorneys in VirginiaSUMMARY: Virginia DUI AttorneysContinue reading for more details about DUI attorneys in Virginia.
You may find that a DUI attorney is a beneficial resource if you're charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Virginia. With penalties such as fines and license suspension, a DUI charge is one to take seriously.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
A DUI attorney is a lawyer who focuses on charges for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), as well as related charges, such as driving with an open container of alcohol in your vehicle.
Virginia, like other states, considers alcohol or drug-related traffic convictions a crime.
Like any other crime, you're required to appear in court for a DUI. If you're convicted, you could be sentenced to jail and face other punishment.
Having an attorney represent you on these charges means that you'll be guided through the criminal court process, which can be confusing and have many requirements.
Virginia has several DUI and related charges, including:
- Operating a vehicle or boat while intoxicated.
- Having an open container of alcohol in a vehicle you're operating.
- Refusing to take a breath test for blood alcohol concentration (BAC).
If your BAC test or other drug test shows that you were intoxicated while driving, it may be difficult to avoid a DUI conviction.
However, a DUI lawyer can benefit you in several other ways, such as:
- Appearing in court on your behalf.
- Knowing what factors may influence the outcome of your case.
- Ensuring that you meet all of your legal obligations.
Penalties for a DUI
The penalties for a DUI in Virginia can be harsh.
First, the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will impose a driver's license suspension for:
- 7 days for your 1st offense (DUI or test refusal).
- 60 days or until your trial date (whichever happens first) for your 2nd offense (DUI or test refusal).
NOTE: This suspension IS NOT part of your court sentence but is a separate action taken by the VA DMV.
Later, if you're convicted, the criminal court will impose penalties for the crime. These penalties vary based on the charge and any prior offenses. For example:
- The penalties for your 1st offense are:
- A fine of at least $250.
- Driver's license revocation for 1 year.
- The penalties for a 2nd offense are:
- A $500 minimum fine.
- License revocation for 3 years.
- Up to 1 year in jail.
Fines, driver's license revocation, and jail sentences can be even higher if your BAC is over 0.15%, you have a child in your vehicle, or you cause an accident.
A DUI attorney CANNOT guarantee a positive result but CAN apply their expertise to help you get the best outcome possible for your situation.
Most people know that a DUI arrest and conviction is expensive.
You may have to pay court fines, restitution charges for emergency responders, driver's license reinstatement fees, and other associated fees.
You're also likely to have higher auto insurance rates for several years.
With so many expenses, you may find it difficult to add the cost of a lawyer to your financial responsibilities.
However, remember that a DUI attorney can save you time and frustration and ensure that you don't make costly mistakes when dealing with the court system.
Choose a County
- Chesapeake City
- Covington City
- Fairfax City
- Falls Church City
- Franklin City
- Hampton City
- Harrisonburg City
Compare SR-22 Insurance Rates in 3 Steps
- James City
- Lynchburg City
- Manassas City
- Newport News City
- Norfolk City
- Portsmouth City
- Prince George
- Prince William
- Richmond City
- Roanoke City
1. Enter Your Zip:
Related ContentRecommended Articles