Dealer Forms in Virginia
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
There are a few places where you can obtain dealer forms for your motor vehicle dealership.
You can visit the official Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website for a list of forms available online. The VA DMV makes it easy to download and use the forms it has on its website. With a current version of Adobe's free Reader software, you can type information directly onto the forms and then print them. Alternatively, you can print the forms and write the information in.
You can also get forms from the official Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB) website. This site contains PDF and Word-formatted forms for many common dealer transactions.
Another way to get forms is to use order form DSD 36 (Dealer Request for DMV Forms). You can order bulk quantities of 41 frequently used forms for your business by faxing the form or mailing it to the DMV's Stockroom Section at the address below.
Purposes and instructions for each form are printed right on the forms themselves. If you need to mail in a form, you can send it to:
- Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
- P.O. Box 27412
- Richmond, VA 23269
You can also fax forms to (804) 367-1054.
You can reach the MVDB at (804) 367-1100 (local) or toll-free within Virginia at (877) 270-0203.
Frequently Used Forms
If you do your customers the courtesy of handling their title and registration paperwork when you sell them a car, you will need Form VSA 17A (Application for Certificate of Title and Registration).
Form DSD 27 (Permission to Use Dealer's License Plate) gives customers and other individuals permission to drive a vehicle using the dealer's license plate. This might be used for test driving vehicles or when a customer's vehicle is in the dealer's garage being repaired.
Form DSD 40 (Motor Vehicle Dealer Application to Issue a Subsequent Set of 30-day Temporary Plates) is used when dealers need authorization to issue a second or third set of temporary plates. Temporary plates might be needed when a customer purchases a vehicle, and the second or third set is required if the dealer cannot obtain the vehicle's title or certificate of origin within 30 days.
Form VSA 5 (Odometer Disclosure Statement) is used when dealers need to report a vehicle's mileage for purposes of registering and titling the vehicle.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.