Buying and Selling FAQs in Virginia
How long are my temporary plates good?
60 days. More than enough time to apply for and receive in the mail special personalized plates.
What is Virginia's Sales and Use tax?
Ah, good question. This one-time tax is based on 3% of a vehicle's gross sales price, and is charged whenever a vehicle changes ownership. During the titling process, the state takes either the 3% rate or $35, depending on which one is higher.
If I just moved to the state, do I have to pay Virginia's Sales and Use tax if my car was already titled in another state?
As long as you possess a valid title or registration certificate from another state, you are exempt from this tax. If, however, your vehicle was purchased within the last 12 months, you must show proof that you already did pay the sales and use tax in your former state.
If I'm shipping a car from Europe into Virginia, can I use the car to transport other personal possessions?
Though not illegal, Customs strongly discourages transforming your vehicle into a four-wheeled shipping crate. The contents are extremely vulnerable to theft. Plus, you face the king-sized hassle of having to declare all your car's contents with Customs. If you attempt to avoid declaring everything by glibly thinking "what's a few boxes," you risk having your vehicle and all its contents seized.
What certifications are required if I want to import a vehicle to Virginia from another country?
To meet National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) standards, the vehicle's certification label should include the manufacturing date, name of manufacturer, and the following line: "This vehicle conforms to all applicable Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) in effect on the date of manufacture shown above." This label must be attached to the driver-side hinge-pillar or the door-latch post or the door-edge adjacent to the door-latch post.
If I'm importing a car into Virginia, is it true I must have the undercarriage cleaned before shipping?
Not just cleaned, but thoroughly cleaned. The U.S. Department of Agriculture requires that all undercarriages be thoroughly cleaned so as to safeguard against transporting any dangerous pests into the state and the country.
What documentation will I need if I'm importing a vehicle into Virginia?
You will need the following:
- The shipper's or carrier's original bill of lading.
- The bill of sale.
- Foreign registration documents.
- A letter from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) confirming that the vehicle adheres to all U.S. emission standards.
Or, if all of the above seems like too much work, you can hire an Independent Commercial Importer (ICI) to import your vehicle. Be willing to dent your savings account, however. ICIs are extremely expensive.
My question wasn't asked here. Where can I find more information about buying or selling a car in Virginia?
Find New and Used Cars for Sale in Virginia
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.