Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Utah
If you drive―or ride―a motor vehicle on Utah roads, you are required to take financial responsibility for any damage or injury your vehicle causes. This is called liability. In Utah, all highway vehicles, including motorcycles, must be covered by a liability insurance policy.
Read more to learn about motorcycle insurance requirements in Utah.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
An insurance policy covering liability is the only approved way to establish financial responsibility.
If you’re not sure whether your bike or scooter needs to be insured, call the Division of Motor Vehicles at (800) 368-8824.
Utah Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Utah requires you to have motorcycle liability insurance to help cover costs associated with property damage and bodily injuries suffered by others in an accident for which you are found at fault.
Your motorcycle insurance policy must include at least the following minimum coverage limits per accident:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person.
- $65,000 for total bodily injury when multiple people are hurt in the accident.
- $15,000 for property damage.
As you are getting your motorcycle insurance quotes, keep in mind that these are only the minimum limits. You may find that you need to purchase higher limits to help financially protect you further.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Utah is one of several "no-fault" states, meaning automobile drivers are required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage to help with their injury-related expenses after an accident no matter who is found to be at fault.
While Utah's motorcycle insurance requirements resemble Utah's liability car insurance requirements, PIP is not required to be a part of your motorcycle insurance policy.
You may find that your motorcycle insurance company may still offer PIP as an option for you. Contact your insurance agent for further details.
You may find that motorcycle liability insurance does not provide you with enough coverage. If this is the case consider some of the optional coverages that may be available to you.
Some optional types of coverage include:
- Collision - This coverage helps with repairs if you bike is damaged in an accident.
- Comprehensive - This will help with repairs after several incidents that are not accident-related.
- Towing and labor - In the event of a mechanical breakdown, this coverage can help provide and pay for emergency roadside assistance and towing.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
Your motorcycle Insurance coverage has no effect on helmet requirements in Utah.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
When you buy a motorcycle insurance policy, your insurance company will send you a “proof of insurance” card. Keep this card with you when you ride, because you’re required to show it to any peace officer who asks to see it.
Also, the Utah DMV compares their list of registered vehicles against a list of insurance policy holders. If they discover you do not have insurance, they will send you a letter asking you to submit proof of insurance.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
If you have no proof of insurance or cannot provide it when requested, you will be reported to law enforcement and the DMV. If you are convicted of riding without motorcycle insurance, your license and registration may be suspended and you will be charged a fine of at least $400 for a first offense.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!