Identification Cards in UtahPage Overview
Identification Cards in Utah
What if you need to show an ID, but you don't drive and don't need a license? Fortunately, you don't need to go through the motions of getting a driver's license just to prove your age or identity.
A state ID card is used to verify your identification when you don’t qualify for a driver’s license or no longer drive due to age or medical conditions. Identification cards are useful for cashing checks, for law enforcement inquiries, traveling, and other times when you need to verify your identify.
You cannot have a driver's license and an ID card. You must surrender your driver’s license to receive a state ID from the Department of Public Safety.
Visit your local Department of Public Safety Driver License Division office in person and:
- Complete an ID card application (Form DLD6A).
- Provide proof of your identity/legal presence with documents such as your:
- Valid U.S. passport.
- U.S. birth certificate.
- Provide proof of your Social Security number with documents such as a:
- Social Security card.
- W-2 form.
- 1099 form.
- Provide 2 documents that prove your Utah residency, with documents including:
- Bank statements.
- Rental agreements.
- Court documents.
- Provide proof of your name change, if applicable.
- Proof includes marriage certificates, divorce papers, etc.
- Pay the $18 fee, or $13 if you have a disability.
- Have your photo taken.
A parent or guardian must sign off for applicants under 16 years old.
You'll receive a temporary identification card after you apply. Your permanent Utah ID card will be mailed within 3 weeks of your application. Utah identification cards are valid for 5 years.
NOTE: If you must surrender your driver's license due to age or medical reasons, you're eligible for a free ID card. To apply, you must appear in person.
Utah identification cards can be renewed online or in person. ID cards are valid for 5 years.
There is an $18 fee to renew a photo ID. People with disabilities are charged $13 to renew their ID card.
NOTE: To renew your ID card online, you must have already verified your identity with the Utah Department of Public Safety.
Online ID Card Renewal
If you are eligible to renew your ID card online, the Utah DMV will mail you a renewal notice and an online PIN.
To renew your identification card online, you'll need to:
- Visit the online renewal system on the Utah DPS website.
- Enter your:
- ID card number
- Issue date.
- Renewal PIN.
- Pay your renewal fee.
ID Renewal In Person
To renew your identification card in person, visit your local UT DMV office and:
- Complete the ID card application (Form DLD6A).
- Provide proof of your identification, residency, and Social Security number. (See above).
- Pay your renewal fee.
If your identification card has been lost, stolen, or damaged, you can apply for a duplicate ID.
To replace your ID card, visit any Utah DMV office with:
- Proper identification, residency, and Social Security documents. (See above.)
- A completed ID card application (Form DLD6A), if necessary.
- Payment for the $18 fee.
If you move and change your address, you must notify the Utah DMV within 10 days. Address changes can be made online or at any Utah driver’s license office.
To change your address online, please visit the Utah DMV website.
To change your name from what’s listed on your current ID, you will have to:
- Visit a Utah driver's license office.
- Present legal proof of the name change with documents such as:
- A certified state marriage certificate.
- Divorce decree.
- A court document indicating the name change.
- Present the same types of verification as when you originally obtained your state issued identification. (See above.)
For more information, please visit our pages on the following topics:Other Topics in This SectionOrgan Donation Survey
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸