Drivers Ed in Utah
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Education in Utah
If you're 18 years old or younger, the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires you to complete a driver's education course before you can obtain your first driver's license.
A driver's education course will teach you all about driving laws in Utah, how to operate a motor vehicle, and safe driving techniques.
Utah Driver's Ed Eligibility Requirements
If you're 18 years old or younger, you must complete a driver's education course in Utah.
Before beginning your course, you must first:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Obtain your UT learner's permit.
For information about applying for your learner's permit and permit restrictions, please visit our Drivers Permits in Utah page.
Not quite ready for the Utah written DMV knowledge exam? Try taking one of our online practice tests.
About Utah Driver's Education
With any approved driver's education course in Utah, you will learn how to:
- Safely operate a motor vehicle.
- Practice defensive driving techniques.
- Follow the laws of the road.
- Increase your driving awareness.
Classroom and Behind-the-Wheel Hours
Your UT driver's education course must include:
- 18 hours of classroom instruction.
- 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
- 6 hours of driving observation.
NOTE: If you hold a driver's education certificate of completion from another state, the Utah DMV will accept it as long as the course hours are equivalent to the above.
Types of UT Driver's Ed Courses
If you're 18 years old or younger, you must attend a driver's education program in Utah at any of the following locations:
- Your high school.
- A private Driver's Ed school.
- An approved online/home study driver's education course.
Visit the UT Department of Public Safety website for a complete list of approved private Driver's Ed providers.
NOTE: If you take an online driver education course in Utah, you must still complete the 6 hours of behind-the wheel training and 6 hours of driving observation at your high school or any commercial Driver's Ed school.
Getting Your Driver's License in Utah
Once you complete your driver's education course, you may apply for a driver's license in Utah. If:
- You've held your learner's permit for 6 months.
- You are 18 years old, and have successfully completed Driver's Ed.
- You are 19 years old, and you have held your learner's permit for 90 days. If you've completed a Driver's Ed course, this requirement will be waived.
To apply for your Utah driver's license, visit your local UT DMV office and:
- Show proof of driver education, if applicable.
- Provide proof of your:
- Social Security number.
- Submit a parent signature verifying you have completed 40 hours of driving practice (10 hours at night).
- Pass the driving skills test.
- Pass a vision test.
- Get your photo taken.
- Pay the $30 non-refundable driver license fee.
For more information about applying for your UT driver permit and a Utah driver's license, please visit our page about Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Utah.
NOTE: If you are under 18 years old, your parents must sign your application.
Distracted driving is on the same scale as drunk driving. You wouldn’t drive drunk, so why drive distracted?
Take the pledge — end distracted driving.