Drivers with Disabilities in Utah
Utah drivers with disabilities that make it difficult or impossible to walk far may be eligible for special license plates or placards entitling them to park closer to building entrances, either in specially reserved disabled parking spaces or (for reasonable periods) for free in metered or restricted spaces. Drivers with disabled plates or placards may never park in spaces designated for emergency use.
The law defines a disabled person as one who meets one or more of the following conditions (a physician's certification is required):
- Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
- Cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other devices
- Is restricted by lung disease to the standard explained on the Disabled Person And Physician Disability Certification(Form TC-842)
- Uses portable oxygen
- Has a cardiac condition to the standard explained on the Disabled Person And Physician Disability Certification(Form TC-842)
- Is severely limited in his or her ability to walk, due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition
These drivers may be issued a disabled license plate, a rear-view mirror placard, or both from the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Organizations that routinely transport disabled people as part of their business may also be issued disabled plates for the vehicles they use for this purpose.
If you have a qualifying disability, you and your doctor must fill out Disabled Person And Physician Disability Certification(Form TC-842) to certify that you are disabled and indicate whether the disability is temporary or permanent. You may apply in person or by mail to:
- Division of Motor Vehicles
- Mail and Correspondence
- P.O. Box 30412
- Salt Lake City, UT 84130
The disabled license plate cost an additional $15 on top of any other applicable vehicle registration fees, plus $3 if the plate is issued by mail. There is no fee to renew this plate, though normal vehicle registration renewal fees will apply.
Disabled person placards are free. Lost placards may be replaced free. Placards are issued either on a permanent basis (renewable free every 2 years; no doctor's certification needed) or on a temporary basis for up to 6 months. They should be hung from the vehicle's rear-view mirror only while parked―not while driving.
Remember that disabled plates and placards may be used only for vehicles transporting a qualified disabled person. If the disabled person is not in the car and you abuse the privilege by using the license plate or placard to park in a disabled spot or at a meter without paying, you could be fined. Anyone who witnesses such abuse may report it to law enforcement.
Note that special plates or placards are not required to park in courtesy parking spaces that some Utah businesses reserve for expectant mothers.
Utah honors plates and placards from other states, Mexico, and Canada. To find out whether your Utah disability plates or placard will be honored in another state, refer to our Drivers with Disabilities section for the state you will be visiting.
For more general license plate information, please see License Plates & Placards on this site.Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog Check and Car Inspection
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸