Changing Your Address in Utah
Changing your address?
Perfect time to compare car insurance rates.
1. Start Your Quote:
Utah law requires you to notify the Driver License Division within 10 days if you move. This is particularly important if you're eligible to extend or renew your license by mail, because the post office won't forward mail from the Driver License Division to your new address―in which case you won't receive the renewal notice. There is no fee for changing your address.
You can furnish your new address and your license number to a driver license field office by mail, phone, online, or in person. Then affix your new address on the back of your license by writing on a piece of tape or using an address label. To notify by mail, send your name, license number, last four digits of your Social Security number, and new address to:
- Driver License Division
- P.O. Box 30560
- Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0560
If your name has changed, you should appear at a field office in person and bring legal proof of the name change in the form of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, adoption papers, citizenship papers, guardianship papers, or a court document indicating the change. If you are issued a duplicate license with the new information, the fee will be $18.
Along with your license, you should update your address of record for your car registration whenever you move. You can do that stopping by your local DMV office or by mailing your plate number, current address and full name to:
- Utah State Tax Commission
- Motor Vehicle Division
- 210 North 1950 West
- Salt Lake City, UT 84130
- Use zip code 84116 for express services (FedEx, UPS)
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- DMV New Resident Checklist
- Forms and Publications for New Residents
- Moving and Need to Change Your Address? Use This Address Change Checklist!
- Change of Address on Vehicle Registration and Titles
- Learn How to Change Your Address on Your Drivers License
- How to Notify the DMV of Your Address Change