Commercial Driver FAQs in Utah
Get Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:
- Do I apply for a commercial driver's license (CDL) at the Department of Motor Vehicles?
- Where do I get training for a CDL?
- Where do I apply for a CDL?
- When do I need a CDL?
- When am I exempt from needing a CDL?
- What if I am under 21?
- Can I have a CDL or other driver license from more than one state?
- Will I undergo a background check?
- How much will it cost to get a CDL?
- What is a DOT certificate, and where can I get one?
- Can I get a learner's permit?
Not in Utah. All driver licenses, including CDLs, are issued by the Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division.
In Utah, CDL training is provided by private companies (third parties) certified by the Utah Driver License Division. After you have completed your training, these same companies can provide testing as well.
The Driver License Division has driver license field offices all over Utah where you can apply for a commercial driver license after you have completed your training. In most cases, you need to make an appointment to apply for a CDL and take the required written and road tests. Hours of operation vary widely from office to office. Some offices, but not all, provide both written and road testing.
If you plan to drive a commercial motor vehicle (CMV), you need a CDL. If you drive a CMV without a commercial license, you could go to jail or incur a court fine of $5,000. In Utah, you need a CDL to operate the following vehicles:
- A single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,000 pounds or more
- A trailer with a GVWR of more than 10,000 pounds if the gross combination weight rating is more than 26,000 pounds
- A vehicle designed to transport 16 or more occupants, including the driver
- Any vehicle that requires hazardous materials placards
You need a Class A, Class B, or Class C commercial license, depending on the type of vehicle you will be driving.
Not all large vehicles require a commercial license. Generally, RVs driven for personal or family recreation, military vehicles driven by the military, farm vehicles driven by farmers, and emergency vehicles driven by emergency personnel are exempt (see the Utah Commercial Driver License Handbook for specifics).
You can get a commercial license at age 18, but federal requirements dictate that you must be at least 21 to drive a commercial vehicle across state lines. If you're between 18 and 21 and have at least one year of driving experience, you may obtain a CDL with the restrictions that you may operate only within the state of Utah and you are not eligible for the passenger, school bus, or hazardous materials endorsements.
No. By federal law, it's illegal for commercial motor vehicle drivers to possess more than one license, and you may have a license only from your state of legal residence. This means that you may not have both a Utah CDL and a regular Utah driver license; you should surrender your regular license when obtain a CDL.
If you have licenses from other states, you must turn them in. All the states share information about CDL drivers, and if you are found to have licenses from more than one state, you might end up with a $5,000 fine or even jail time. Since your Utah CDL allows you to drive cars and drive commercial vehicles across any state, it's the only one you need.
Yes. When you apply for a CDL in Utah, the Driver License Division will check your Utah driving record, the nationwide Commercial Driver License Information System, and the National Driver's Register. If the check reveals that your license has been suspended, revoked, canceled, or denied in any other state, then you will not be eligible for a commercial license in Utah until your license has been reinstated in the other state.
Training fees are established by the training center you choose. In addition to the cost of training, you will pay application fees when you apply for your CDL. These fees vary based on the number of endorsements you are seeking (each endorsement requires an additional test). These fees include two attempts for each test:
- General Knowledge test, including Combination Vehicles test and Air Brakes test, if required (written): $40
- Skills tests (driving): $60
- Endorsement tests: $7 each
- Hazardous Materials
- Tank Vehicles
- School Bus (fee includes driving test)
- Tanker/Hazardous Materials
Note that the testing fees can change, so be sure to verify them with your local testing office.
A DOT (U.S. Department of Transportation) certificate states that you meet federal medical requirements for driving a commercial motor vehicle. You will need to obtain a DOT certificate before you take the written tests. You'll need to bring this certificate when you apply for a CDL and always carry it with you when you're driving a commercial vehicle.
You can get a DOT certificate from a doctor, a transportation company, or an exam center that follows Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations. You may also purchase a medical certificate from:
- Utah Motor Transport Association
- 975 W. 2100 S.
- Salt Lake City, UT 84119
- (801) 973-9370
Once you get a DOT certificate and pass the knowledge (written) tests, you may receive a learner's permit, which lets you legally practice for the driving skills test in a commercial vehicle as long as a commercial operator with the appropriate license and endorsements is riding with you.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
- Would Iron Man buy rental car insurance
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.