Dealer Forms in Utah
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Dealer forms are available in person, by mail, or online at the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division (MVED) of the Utah State Tax Commission. Since the MVED is not set up to receive forms electronically, forms must be submitted in person or by mail to:
- Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division
- 210 N. 1950 W.
- Salt Lake City, UT 84130
- (801) 297-2600
- E-mail: email@example.com
Fill out the Bonded Motor Vehicle Business Application, otherwise known as Form TC-301, to apply for a motor vehicle dealer's license.
Form TC-300 describes the steps you need to take to fill out the application form and other requirements for obtaining a motor vehicle dealer license in Utah.
Along with the standard FBI fingerprint card, which you can get from either the MVED or your local police department (you'll need to go to your police department to actually take the fingerprints), you will be asked to provide a fingerprint waiver authorizing the police agency to release any criminal information about you to the MVED.
The Bond of Motor Vehicle Dealer, Crusher, or Body Shop form shows the MVED that your dealership is bonded as required.
Submit the Application for Special Plates and Decals with your application to receive two dealer license plates when you first get your dealer's license.
Form TC-69 (Utah State Tax and Business Registration Form) is required as part of your application for a dealer's license. In most cases, you can also register your business online.
The Motor Vehicle Salesperson Application should be filled out by all salespeople working for your dealership.
All the forms that you might need once you become a licensed motor vehicle dealer are available from the main forms page. The list is extensive, but below are the forms you will most commonly use during the course of running a dealership.
When you sell a new or used vehicle, you need to disclose in writing how the sale is to be financed. Your purchase agreements must all contain the approved language.
You'll need to provide a temporary permit with any automobile, trailer, or motorcycle you sell so the buyer can drive the vehicle for 30 days while getting permanent license plates. You can buy a pad of 25 temporary permits for $200.25 by filling out Form TC-756. You can also purchase temporary permits online at the MVED website.
If you sell a vehicle in Utah that was originally manufactured to be sold outside the United States, both you and the buyer must complete Form TC-353.
Once your business is up and running, provide a Monthly Report of Sales to the Utah MVED.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.