Ticket Dismissal in Texas
If you have received a traffic ticket in Texas, then a Texas State Approved Defensive Driving Course is a great way to dismiss your traffic ticket and lose the points from your driving records. I Drive Safely is a good choice for Texas traffic school online.Page Overview
To get your traffic ticket dismissed and points removed from your TX driving record, you might have the option to complete a state-approved driving safety course. Just be sure the course is approved by the Texas Education Agency.
Your first step to getting the ticket dismissed is admitting guilt to the moving violation or signing a statement that you don’t contest the citation. Then you must request permission by responding to the court on or before the appearance date specified on your traffic ticket. Check with the court on your options to do so either in person or by mail.
Those Not Eligible To Dismiss a Traffic Ticket
There are certain circumstances where the state will not dismiss your traffic ticket upon completion of a driver safety course:
- Speeding tickets for more than 25 MPH over the posted speed limit.
- Speeding at 95 MPH or more.
- Traffic violations committed by commercial drivers.
- Passing a school bus.
- Serious traffic violations.
- Failing to provide help and information after being involved in an accident.
- Traffic offenses committed in a construction zone (in the presence of construction workers).
- You've completed a court-order defensive driving course within the last 12 months before receiving your ticket.
If you hold a TX CDL and get pulled over, you won’t get your ticket dismissed no matter what type of vehicle you were driving when cited.Approved Texas Online Courses
Complete this course if you have received a traffic ticket in Texas and have been referred by the court to take a defensive driving course. You may only complete this course once every 12 months.
$39.95 Register Now »
Texas Seat Belt Course
Complete this course if you have received a citation for a child car seat violation, transporting passengers ages 5-16 without a seat belt, or for any other seat belt violation with court approval.
$39.95 Register Now »
Once you gain the court’s approval to take a driving safety course, it will give you a deadline by which you must complete the course. For many drivers, spare time to sit all day in a classroom doesn’t come easily. Therefore, look into online offerings for a state-approved class that you can take from your own computer when your schedule allows. Just be sure you pass the course by the deadline set by the court. In many cases, this is a period of 90 days.
No matter which route you take (traditional classroom, DVD or online course), you’ll receive a completion certificate after passing the six-hour course. Often times the traffic school will send you two certificates by mail―one for the court and one for your auto insurance provider.
NOTE: The court will only honor course completion after you get a traffic violation. In other words, you can’t complete a driving safety course and save your completion certificate for a later traffic ticket.
The court will inform you of what you need to submit to get your traffic ticket dismissed and points removed from your driving record. This often includes:
- Your driving safety course completion certificate
- Fees in addition to the traffic ticket fines
- A copy of your driving record
The state only allows one TEA-approved course completion to dismiss a traffic ticket per year. This yearly limit does not apply if you were cited for not having a child safety seat or not having a child properly in the seat. In this case, you might be eligible to take a Child Seat Belt Safety Course in addition to driving safety course.
To ensure you the state removed or reduced your points, check your driving record. You'll also want to periodically ensure that the state's record is accurate regardless if you were recently ticketed. Because an accumulation of points could lead to a suspended driver's license or an in increase in your auto insurance rates, make sure your driving record is always correct.Instant Texas Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record. Each record may include suspensions, points, classifications, vital data, endorsements, expiration and driving status.
Not only will you get a refresher on Texas traffic laws and safe-driving tips, you might also get a discount on your auto insurance rates. Many car insurance companies will discount the liability portion of your auto insurance policy (up to 10%) after you complete a TEA-approved course. Inquire with your auto insurance provider for more on this type of discount. It could save you money for the next three years.Other Topics in This SectionRecommended Articles Next Prev
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- Contesting an Out-of-State Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket Myths: What’s Fact and What’s Fiction?
- Using Witnesses When Fighting a Traffic Ticket
- The Pros and Cons of Fighting a Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket and DUI Penalties for Commercial Drivers
- Attending Traffic School for an Auto Insurance Discount
- Types of Traffic Schools
- Attending Traffic School for a Traffic Ticket
- Handling a Lost Parking Ticket
- The Real Cost of a DUI in California
- Bizarre Driving Laws
- How can I get a TX traffic ticket dismissed?
- Can I take a driving safety or defensive driving course to reduce the number of TX driver’s license points on my driving record?
- When is it a good idea to hire a Texas traffic ticket attorney?
Can't find something? Let us help you find it!