Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Suspended CDL in Texas

    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip:

    Commercial Driver License Suspension in Texas

    If the Department of Safety (DPS) suspended your Texas commercial driver’s license (CDL), you’ll need to satisfy your suspension requirements to reinstate it.

    Your CDL may be suspended/disqualified for reasons including:

    • Alcohol/drug-related offenses and DUI/DWI convictions.
    • Leaving the scene of an accident you were involved in.
    • Serious traffic violations, such as:
    • Excessive speeding.
    • Reckless driving.

    On this page you’ll find information about your suspended CDL and how to reinstate it.

    About Your Suspended CDL in Texas

    The duration of your CDL suspension and reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the nature of your offense.

    When your CDL has been suspended/disqualified, the Texas DPS will mail you an enforcement notification. You are required to notify your employer within 30 days of any traffic conviction.

    NOTE: If your current address is not on file with the TX Department of Public Safety, you will not receive your notification, but your driver’s license will still be suspended. If you need to change your address, please see our Changing Your Address in Texas page.

    Your Texas CDL will be disqualified for:

    • At least 1 year, for:
      • An alcohol-related offense.
      • Leaving the scene of an accident.
      • Being involved in a felony.
    • At least 3 years for your 1st offense (if your commercial vehicle contains hazardous materials), for:
      • An alcohol-related offense.
      • Leaving the scene of an accident.
      • Being involved in a felony.
        • NOTE: Your CDL will be disqualified permanently on your 2nd offense.
    • 60 days: For 2 serious traffic offenses within 3 years.
    • 120 days: For 3 serious traffic offenses within 3 years.
    • Life: If you use your commercial vehicle in a felony.

    NOTE: In addition to Texas DPS suspensions you may face for DWI and alcohol-related offenses (under the Administrative License Revocation [ALR] program), you may also face criminal charges administered by the courts.

    Your CDL can also be disqualified for traffic violations and offenses committed in a non-commercial vehicle. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Texas page.

    Additional Federal Suspensions

    In addition to state laws, you are also subject to federal regulations, which are controlled by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). These include:

    • License disqualifications and fines for violating out-of-service orders.
    • Suspensions and disqualifications ranging from 60 days to life for violations and convictions including:
      • Violating railroad-highway grade crossings.
      • Excessive speeding and reckless driving.
      • DUI/DWI and leaving the scene of an accident.

    NOTE: You are required to notify your employer within 30 days of any traffic conviction.

    For more information on federal regulations and penalties, please see the FMCSA website.

    Check Your Driver’s License Status

    You can check the status of your CDL by visiting the Texas DPS website and entering your:

    • Driver’s license or ID number.
    • Date of birth.
    • Last 4 digits of your Social Security number (SSN).

    You will be shown:

    • The status of your commercial driver’s license.
    • Any fees you owe.
    • Any documents or items you must submit.

    NOTE: Texas CDL suspensions and serious violations will always remain on your driving record.

    For information about requesting your driving record, please see our Driving Records in Texas page.

    Texas CDL Suspension Hearings and Appeals

    If you want to contest your CDL suspension/disqualification, you must request a Texas DPS administrative hearing within 20 days of receiving your suspension. If your Texas CDL was suspended under the Administrative License Revocation (ALR) program, you must request a hearing within 15 days.

    NOTE: TX DPS hearings have no effect on court decisions for criminal convictions.

    Contact a Local Attorney

    If your CDL has been suspended or disqualified, find an attorney near you who can help you with reinstatement.

    Request a Hearing

    To request a hearing, complete the online hearing request form on the Texas DPS website by entering your:

    • Texas driver’s license or ID number.
    • Full name.
    • Date of birth.
    • Mailing address.
    • Attorney’s details, if applicable.

    To request an ALR hearing, complete the online ALR hearing request form by entering your:

    • Full name.
    • Date of birth.
    • Mailing address.
    • Phone number.
    • Details of your arrest:
      • Date.
      • County.
      • Whether your offense was committed in a commercial vehicle.
      • Whether you refused or failed your breath/blood test.
    • Arresting officer’s name and agency details.
    • Details of your attorney, if applicable.

    If your request is received in time, the Texas DPS will mail you a letter that includes your hearing date, time, and location. If you request a hearing too late, you will receive a denial notice in the mail.

    NOTE: Your suspension hearing can take up to 120 days to process and schedule.

    Appeal a Hearing Decision

    If you want to contest the decision made at your administrative hearing, you can request an appeal within 30 days of receiving your suspension/disqualification/revocation letter.

    To appeal the court decision, mail a stamped and certified appeal petition from the court by certified mail to:

    Department of Public Safety
    Enforcement and Compliance Service
    P.O. Box 4087
    Austin, TX 78773-0320

    To appeal the decision of your ALR suspension hearing, return your certified petition to the Texas DPS:

    • By mail:
        Department of Public Safety
        Director of Hearings – ALR Program
        P.O. Box 15327
        Austin, TX 78761-5327
    • In person:
        Department of Public Safety
        Director of Hearings – ALR Program
        5805 N Lamar Blvd, Main Building
        Austin, TX 78752-0300

    NOTE: If your appeal request is approved, the DPS will remove your suspension for 90 days. Once a final decision is reached, you must return a certified copy of the decision to the Texas DPS at one of the addresses above.

    Reinstate Your Commercial Driver’s License

    The requirements to reinstate your Texas CDL will vary depending on the reason for your suspension.

    You can pay your reinstatement fees and see what documents you must submit on the Texas DPS website. You’ll need to enter your:

    • Driver license number.
    • Birth date.
    • The last 4 digits of your Social Security number (SSN).

    The TX DPS accepts online payment by VISA, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express credit cards.

    Any court requirements and fees must be submitted to the court.

    NOTE: If you’ve recently made a payment with the TX DPS online service, you must wait 72 hours before you can make another payment online.

    If you need to submit any documents, write your name, date of birth, and driver license number on all of them. Include a copy of your suspension notice, and send your documents:

    • By mail to:
        Department of Public Safety
        Enforcement and Compliance Service
        P.O. Box 4087
        Austin, TX 78773-0320
    • By fax: (512) 424-2848.
    • By e-mail (documents must be PDF files): driver.improvement@dps.texas.gov.

    If you cannot pay your fees online, you can mail your payment and any other required documents to:

    Department of Public Safety
    Central Cash Receiving
    P.O. Box 15999
    Austin, TX 78761-5999

    Reinstatement documents/fees can take up to 14 days to process.

    If your CDL suspension was caused by 2 serious traffic offenses or more, your CDL will be reinstated automatically after your disqualification period.

    Fees to Reinstate Your CDL in Texas

    The fees to reinstate your commercial driver’s license may vary depending on the reason for your suspension. You can check what fees you owe on the Texas DPS website. See “Reinstate Your Commercial Driver’s License” above.

    You may also need to pay additional court fines and fees, depending on your offense.

    Accepted Payment Methods

    If you are using the Texas DPS online system, payment must be made by one of the following credit cards:

    • VISA.
    • MasterCard.
    • Discover.
    • American Express.

    If sending payment by mail to the TX DPS, payment must be made by check. DO NOT send cash.

    If making payment in person, contact your local TX DPS office for accepted payment methods.

    Obtain a Restricted TX Driver’s License

    You may be eligible to obtain a restricted driver’s license in Texas to use while your CDL is suspended. The restricted license will only allow you to drive a non-commercial vehicle to authorized locations.

    Restricted occupational licenses are usually valid for up to 1 year and can be issued for a maximum of 2 years, if granted by the court.

    To request a restricted Texas occupational license:

    • Visit the county court where you received your suspension and file a petition.
    • Obtain a signed court order, which can be used as a 30-day temporary restricted license.
    • Provide the Texas DPS with:
      • Your certified occupational license petition/court order.
      • An SR22 from your insurance company.
      • Any required suspension documents.
      • Your driver’s license reinstatement fees.
      • Your $10 occupational license fee.

    Submit the required documents to a TX DPS office in person, or mail them to:

    Department of Public Safety
    Enforcement and Compliance Service
    P.O. Box 4087
    Austin, TX 78773-0320

    Your occupational license request will be processed immediately, unless you must comply with a mandatory waiting period of:

    • 90 days: For an alcohol or drug offense suspension.
    • 180 days: For an intoxication conviction.
    • 1 year: If you have 2 administrative license revocations (ALR) or more on your driving record
    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip: