Traffic Tickets in TennesseePage Overview
For more information about traffic tickets in Tennessee, continue reading this page.
The fines, penalties, and court costs you’ll pay for a TN traffic ticket will vary depending on where you received the ticket.
More severe violations can result in:
- Heavier fines.
- An automatic driver’s license suspension.
- A mandatory court hearing.
NOTE: Make sure you respond to your traffic ticket by the deadline date to avoid further penalties.
For more information, please visit our page about Ticket Fines & Penalties.
If you have any specific questions about your traffic ticket, contact the county court listed on your citation.
Driving Record Points
If you receive a traffic ticket in Tennessee, the violation will show up on your driving record. Depending on your violation, the TN Department of Safety (DOS) may also add points to your record.
If you accumulate 12 points within 12 months, your TN driver’s license may be suspended.
Unless your traffic ticket states that you have a mandatory court appearance, you can pay the ticket fine any time before the due date. Refer to your ticket for specific instructions.
In Tennessee, you can generally pay your traffic ticket:
- By mail.
- In person.
Contact the traffic court in the county where you received the ticket for payment instructions.Pay Your Tennessee Traffic Ticket Online
Many county courts within the State of Tennessee will allow you to pay your traffic ticket instantly online. Select the court which issued your traffic ticket below and skip a trip to the traffic court.
If the Tennessee issuing court is not listed above, follow the instructions on below.
Dismiss a Traffic Ticket or Demerit Points
Depending on your violation, completing a defensive driving course may:
- Prevent points being added to your driving record.
- Dismiss your traffic ticket.
- Be mandatory.
Your eligibility depends on your driving history and whether you’ve taken traffic school in the past. Please visit our Defensive Driving in Tennessee page or contact the relevant traffic court for further details.
To plead “not guilty” to your traffic ticket, you’ll most likely need to attend your scheduled court appearance. Your traffic ticket should list instructions, or you can contact the appropriate TN traffic court directly.
For additional guidance, you may want to seek legal representation from a traffic ticket attorney.
Visit our page about Fighting Traffic Tickets to learn more.
If you’ve lost your TN traffic ticket, contact the traffic court in the county where you received the ticket. You’ll need to provide your name and driver’s license number.
You should ask for the:
- Ticket citation number.
- Total fine amount.
- Mandatory court appearance date, if applicable.
As a commercial driver in Tennessee, in addition to responding to your traffic ticket, you must notify your employer within 30 days of your traffic ticket conviction. This requirement applies even if you weren’t driving a commercial vehicle.
Read these pages for more information on traffic violations for TN commercial drivers:
If you have further questions, visit our Traffic Ticket FAQ page for more information about topics about:
Other Topics in This Section
- Hiring a traffic ticket attorney.
- Removing points from your driving record.
- Receiving a traffic ticket on a provisional driver’s license.
- Responding to a traffic ticket.