Replacing a Lost Registration in TennesseeCompare Car Insurance Quotes in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:
When it comes to replacing a lost registration certificate in Tennessee, you make your own paperwork to obtain a duplicate―literally.
Type a request for a Tennessee duplicate registration, identifying:
- The reason you need a duplicate.
- Your license plate number.
- Your vehicle identification number (VIN).
The duplicate registration fee is $3. If you need a certified duplicate, the cost is $3.50.
The request must be notarized to be processed.
Mail your notarized request and fee to your local county clerk.
NOTE: Montgomery County residents must fax their request to the county clerk's office and include a credit card number.
Replacing Lost License Plates and Decals
The Tennessee Department of Revenue provides an Application for Duplicate/Replacement License Plate or Decal (Form F1315301) to replace lost, damaged, or stolen license plates and decals.
Note that Tennessee requires all vehicle owners to report lost or stolen license plates/decals to law enforcement. You're also required to record the names of the agency and officer who assisted you. You'll also need to have the application notarized after you fill it out.
You can submit the notarized application to the above address, or contact your local County Clerk's office for further instructions.
If you wish to keep track of the replacement process, you can call the Vehicle Title and Registration Division at (888) 871-3171.Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸