Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Special Vehicles in Tennessee

    Tennessee Special Vehicle Registration

    Tennessee has plenty of terrain perfect for all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) and snowmobiles and, if you're such an enthusiast, you'll probably want a utility trailer to help you haul them to your recreation destination.

    If you have one of these special vehicles, it's important to know the rules and regulations the Tennessee Department of Revenue (DOR) has in place so you don't end up paying fines.

    Certain vehicles will need to be titled and/or registered in the state. These steps and requirements are outlined on this page.

    If you have another vehicle, you may also be interested in reading some of our other pages:

    All-Terrain Vehicles in TN

    Since you can't operate your all-terrain vehicle (ATV) on public roads and highways, you don't have to register it. You do have to title it, though.

    To obtain the ATV title in your name you will need to visit your local TN DOR office in person. You may need to provide:

    You will need to pay a fee of $11 for your title certificate.

    After you get all the technical stuff taken care of, it's time to enjoy your ATV! Check out our special section on Fun with ATVs.

    Tennessee Snowmobiles

    You'll be pleased to find out you don't have to register or title a snowmobile in Tennessee. However, if you ever plan to sell your snowmobile, it's always nice to have proof that it's yours, i.e., you'll need a title.

    If you purchase your snowmobile from a dealership, you'll most likely receive a title in your name. If you purchase it from an individual, you may want to contact your local Tennessee county clerk's office to ask if they'll work out a way to issue the snowmobile a title in your name.

    Utility Trailers

    Utility trailers do not have to be registered, but you can get a license plate for your trailer for $12.25.

    Before you head out on the road, make sure that your trailer meets all Tennessee DOR requirements. You will need to have it inspected for adequate equipment, including:

    • Brakes and braking system.
    • Axles.
    • Tires.
    • Wheels and rims.
    • Safety chains.
    • Fenders/mud flaps.
    • Lights and reflectors.

    You can also check out our article on How To Pull A Trailer.

    Low-Speed Vehicles in Tennessee

    A low-speed vehicle is defined as a vehicle with 4 wheels that has a capacity to run between 20 MPH and 25 MPH―for instance, an electric vehicle you can drive around in your neighborhood. The vehicle is allowed to be driven only on roads with a maximum speed limit of 35 MPH or less.

    Low-speed vehicles must be titled and registered in Tennessee. You'll need to visit your local TN Department of Revenue office and submit:

    NOTE: Golf carts do not qualify as low-speed vehicles, and do not need to be titled or registered in Tennessee.

    Recreational Vehicles and Motorhomes

    If you have a recreational vehicle (RV) or motorhome in Tennessee, remember to have it registered and titled properly before you take it for a drive. You will follow the same process as you would to register a regular car, however fees may vary.

    Visit our Register Car in Tennessee page for more information.

    Scooters and Mopeds in Tennessee

    The state of Tennessee categorizes scooters, mopeds, and motorized bicycles differently:

    • You must register a scooter in Tennessee IF its engine size is 50 cc or more. The registration process is the same as registering a motorcycle.
    • Mopeds and motorized bicycles DO NOT have to be registered, but you can register yours voluntarily.

    More information, including definitions of each type of vehicle, is available on our scooters and mopeds page.

    Be a Hero
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 0

    heroes have registered as organ donors.