Motorcycle Registration in Tennessee
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
Registering your motorcycle for the first time is similar to registering your car for the first time. You can register and title your motorcycle for the first time in one of two ways: at the dealership from which you purchased your motorcycle, or at your local county clerk's office.
If you purchased your motorcycle from a dealership, the dealer will handle all paperwork for you and you'll be charged the applicable fees right there.
If you're registering a new motorcycle, take to your county clerk the Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO), the new vehicle invoice, and your current registration if you're transferring a license plate.
If you're registering a used motorcycle, take to your county clerk the signed certificate of title, Odometer Disclosure Statement, if applicable, and your current registration if you're transferring a license plate.
New residents must title and register their motorcycles within 30 days of establishing Tennessee residency. The requirements to title and register your motorcycle are the same as titling and registering any other vehicle.
Go to your local county clerk's office to apply for a Certificate of Title and Registration and take your most current registration and title, the names and addresses of any lienholders, and proof of identification and residency.
Your registration fees will depend on the cost of your motorcycle. Regardless of whether you pay the taxes and fees at a dealership or the clerk's office, you'll pay:
- $28.50 registration fee (includes license plate)
- State tax: 7% of purchase price
- Local tax: amount depends on location
The Department of Revenue (DOR) advises contacting the county clerk's office for specific taxes.
Renewing your motorcycle registration is the same as renewing any other vehicle registration, except the fee will be $17.
You should receive a renewal notice in the mail; however, the DOS stresses the importance of keeping up with your renewal date in the event that you don't receive a notice. If you don't, simply take your current registration information to the county clerk's office when it's time to renew.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.