Drivers with Disabilities in TennesseePage Overview
Tennessee Drivers With Disabilities
Included in this section is information on obtaining placards and license plates for disabled drivers. These items are displayed on your vehicle to notify law enforcement that you are disabled and therefore have the right to park in special parking spaces reserved for the disabled.
Disability placards are available to use whether you're a driver or a passenger. A disabled driver or passenger is a person who cannot walk more than 200 feet without assistance. It includes people with cardiac and lung conditions, as well as those who are confined to wheelchairs or use crutches.
Permanent placards are valid for 2 years. Temporary placards are also available and are valid for up to 6 months.
The specific time length for a temporary placard will depend on your condition and your doctor's orders. All applications must be completed by your doctor, and some doctors use their own forms to submit your information.
When renewing a disabled placard, you must resubmit your medical certification.
The Tennessee Department of Revenue makes it simple to apply. You only will need to fill out and print the Application for Disabled Person License Plate, Placard and/or Decal (Form RV-F1310301) or pick one up at your local county clerk's office. A portion of the form is to be filled out by your physician, or attach the form your physician uses if he/she has their own.
It is important to note that misrepresentation regarding disabled drivers, placards, and plates is a Class A misdemeanor and could result in fines.
Temporary disability placards are $10, and permanent disability placards are $21.50. There is no fee for a permanent placard if the vehicle is registered to the placard holder. The renewal fees are the same as the original fee and each renewal must include the fees if done by mail. If you mail your application, send it to your local TN county clerk's office.
You may also apply for a specialty disabled license plate by submitting a completed Application for Disabled Person License Plate, Placard and/or Decal (Form RV-F1310301).
There is no fee for plates to those who are permanently confined to a wheelchair; placards are also free if requested at the same time as the plate.
Applications for disabled plates must be completed by your doctor, as well.
Since each state has similar requirements for obtaining disabled parking placards, your Tennessee disabled parking placard should be valid in all states. However, we recommend checking with each state's DMV agency before you begin your travel. It's also wise to always carry a copy of your medical certification in the vehicle in case you need to provide documentation of your disability to an out-of-state authority.
Contact your clerk's office or the Tennessee Department of Revenue at (888) 871-3171, if you have any questions.Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Car Inspection
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸