Dealer-related Information in Tennessee
DMV.org can't train you to be a Tennessee motor vehicle dealer, but we can help you by giving you some tips and tools. This section, along with our Licensing Requirements and Dealer Forms can get you headed in the right direction.
Below are some of the most frequently asked questions regarding motor vehicle dealers and licensing. For more information, refer to the TN Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC).
Now that I have my dealer license certificate, what should I do?
Take it to your county clerk's office so it can be recorded. This is also the time you'll get dealer registration license plates.
Where can I get the paper temporary plates?
Along with providing you with paper (drive-out) tags, the Department of Revenue will inform you of the correct way to keep records of them. Contact them at (888) 871-3171, or (615) 741-3101 if you reside in Nashville, or write to them at:
- Vehicle Services Section
- Taxpayer and Vehicle Services Division
- 44 Vantage Way, Suite 160
- Nashville, TN 37243-8050
Who needs to be licensed at my dealership?
Everyone who purchases or sells the vehicles. Refer to our Dealer Forms section to obtain the appropriate forms and helpful publications.
I'm making some changes to my sales staff. Are there any special steps I should take?
The MVC must be notified within 30 days of any changes in location, address, ownership, or sales reps of a dealership.
I'm closing my dealership. Is there anything I should remember?
Yes. Aside from notifying the MVC, any licensed dealer who closes his or her dealership must submit his or her license certificate to the MVC, and all plates must be returned to the county clerk's office.
When will I need to renew my dealer license?
Usually you'll receive a renewal notice about 45 days before your license expires. If you don't receive your notice you'll need to contact your Field Investigator. Not meeting your renewal requirements on time could cost you a penalty of 50% of the renewal fee.
Follow the instructions on your notice regarding fees and any other bond information you'll need to provide.
I haven't received my Annual Sales Report yet. What should I do?
The Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) advises anyone who hasn't received an Annual Sales Report by the January 15 to contact their Field Investigator. You could be penalized for not completing the report and returning it by February 15. Also, your county clerk's office won't be able to issue your dealer plates until the report is returned.
Are there any other helpful websites out there?
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.