- Location: Tennessee
DUI & DWI in TennesseeCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:Page Overview
Tennessee doesn't play around when it comes to driving while under the influence. Why should they? When someone drives under the influence, he's not only putting his own life at risk, he's also endangering the lives of everyone around him―not to mention the lives of the survivors that will be affected when they lose a loved one to a drunk driver.
DUI is driving under the influence of alcohol or any other drug that impairs your ability to drive. If you're found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher, you're driving illegally.
Contrary to popular belief, cold showers and caffeine won't make you sober any quicker, so instead of ordering a strong cup of black coffee, order yourself a cab.
If you drive under the influence in Tennessee, not only do you risk losing your life, but you'll also lose your driving privileges, spend time in jail and have to enroll in an alcohol education program. Not to mention the major amounts of money (fines, court costs, bail, vehicle storage and towing fees, attorney fees, the cost of the Ignition Interlock Program, license reinstatement fees, and higher insurance costs) that will come out of your pocket.
Areas covered include:
- Implied consent
- First-time offenders
- Second-time offenders
- Third-time offenders
- Fourth-time (or more) offenders
- Child endangerment
- Vehicular assault
- Vehicular homicide
- Aggravated vehicular homicide
Want a quick idea of just how stringent Tennessee's DUI penalties are? A first offense carries a one-year license revocation, anywhere from 24 hours to 11 months and 29 days in jail, and fines up to $1,500.
More information can also be found at the Tennessee Association of Alcohol, Drug, and other Addiction Services (TAADAS) website.
Upon a judge's order, it's possible to obtain a restricted license if you have no previous DUI offenses or license suspensions or revocations on your driving record, as long as you can show proof of having liability insurance at the time of the violation.
In addition, you'll have to file an SR-22 form, take each driver license exam again, and pay a $67 fee.Articles
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Traffic Ticket and DUI Penalties for Commercial Drivers
- Need Legal Help? Tips on Hiring a DUI Attorney
- Fines, Jail Time, Suspended License: DUI and DWI Bring Steep Penalties
- Were You Drunk Driving? DUI and DWI Explained
- Find Out How Much DUI and DWI Convictions Really Cost