Suspended License in South Dakota
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your driver’s license, you can order a driving record report. This record will spell out if your driver’s license is currently valid. Should your license have been revoked or suspended, the report will indicate that according to what’s on record at the DPS. This report will also show points against your license and, in some cases, information on any accidents you have had.
Get your personal drivers´ license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
In South Dakota, there are many, many, ways to lose your driving privileges.
- Conviction for driving while intoxicated
- Alcohol conviction in vehicle by a minor
- Drug conviction in a vehicle
- Refusing to be tested for alcohol or drugs when asked to do so by a police officer
- Having too many points on your driving record
- Failure to maintain proof of insurance on every vehicle owned
- Conviction for a traffic violation, committed prior to the age of 16, by a restricted minor's permit driver
- Attempting to change the information on your license, or using someone else's license
- Failure to appear for a re-examination when requested to do so by Driver Licensing
- Using a motor vehicle to commit a felony, or causing the death of someone in a motor vehicle accident
- Failure to pay a fine resulting from a conviction of a moving violation
- Convictions for violating driver's license restrictions, if you're under 18
- Vandalism in a motor vehicle
- Sale or distribution of alcohol to a person under 21
- Possession of alcohol by a person under 21
- Eluding law enforcement
- Driving during the period of a court sentence that prohibits driving
- Driving while license is suspended, canceled, revoked, or denied
- Giving false information when you apply for a driver's license or identification card
- Failure to settle a financial judgment made against you for damages resulting from a motor vehicle accident
If your license has been revoked, that means your driving privileges have been canceled. If your license has been suspended, that means that your driving privileges have been temporarily halted.
The length of your suspension or revocation depends on your offense, and your driver history.
While serving a license suspension or revocation, some drivers may be able to regain partial driving privileges depending on their circumstances.
To learn whether you are eligible, call (605) 773-3541. If you receive the green light, you will need to complete a Restricted Work Permit Application and mail it to:
- Driver Licensing
- 118 West Capitol Ave.
- Pierre, SD 57501-2000
If you're under 16, and commit a traffic violation, your license will be suspended for at least 30 days. If it happens again, your license will be revoked until you turn 16, or until 90 days has passed, whichever is longest.
If you're under 16, and found guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor or felony, your license will be suspended until you turn 16, and possibly longer.
If you're 16 or 17, and disobey the restrictions of your license, your license will be suspended for 30 days following each conviction.
The procedure for regaining your driving privileges after your punishment has been served for a license revocation or suspension is basically the same, except for one major difference.
Both require you to head to an exam station. While there, you will have to pay the reinstatement fee (anywhere from $50-$200), and any application fees.
However, here's the difference: If your license was suspended, you will not have to take any tests. (Unless your license expired while you were on suspension.) If your license was revoked, you'll have to take the vision and knowledge tests, and possibly the driving test.
If you're under 18 and your restricted permit has been suspended, you will not have to pay the reinstatement and application fees (unless your suspension was for a moving violation, in which you received six points or more on your license).
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.