- Location: South Dakota
Safety Laws in South DakotaPage Overview
Headlights required during daylight.
Headlights must be turned on:
- From 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise.
- When visibility, due to weather or darkness, is limited to less than 200 feet ahead.
As of March 2011, there are no statewide bans against cell phone use or texting.
- All kids under 5 years old and who weigh less than 40 pounds must ride in federally-approved car seat or booster.
- All kids 17 years old and under must use a seat belt if they are not seated in a safety seat or booster.
Before buying a child car seat, be sure to read our article on How to Buy a Child Safety Seat.
Dial 911 to report a driver you suspect of being drunk or a menace to the road. Try to provide the vehicle's license plate
number, make and model, location and travel direction.
Call 911 with the vehicle's location and description if you feel the child inside is in danger. Remain with the vehicle until authorities arrive.
If you sense that the pet's health is in danger due to cold or heat, call the local police department or animal control unit.Other Topics in This Section
True or False
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Doctors don’t work with the same urgency to save your life if they know you’re an organ donor.