DMV Point System in South Dakota
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Your driver's license will be suspended if you total 15 points on your license within a 12-month period, or 22 points within a 24-month period.
So, how many points are assessed for various traffic violations? Here's the list:
- Driving while intoxicated―10
- Reckless driving―8
- Eluding/attempting to elude authorities―6
- Drag racing―6
- Failure to yield right of way―4
- Improper passing―4
- Driving on the wrong side of roadway―4
- Stop sign/light violation―3
- Other moving violation―2
Driving while intoxicated offenses carry an automatic license revocation.
If you're out of state, and convicted of a traffic offense that carries points with it in South Dakota, it will be tallied on your South Dakota driving record.
If you're involved in an incident in which multiple offenses apply, the offense with the highest point value will be marked on your license.
Some drivers whose licenses have been suspended might be given a restricted license, which allows them to drive under a limited set of circumstances.
No points will be assessed on your license for speeding and parking violations. However, you'll still have to pay the applicable fines and fees.
Also, insurance companies keep a close watch on traffic violations. Your insurance premiums might go up, or you might be labeled a "high-risk" customer if you rack up enough violations. Even worse, your insurance company might cancel your policy, leaving you to search for insurance with the "high-risk" driver tag, meaning you'll have to pay much higher premiums.
The length of your suspension depends on your history. The first time your license is suspended, you'll lose your driving privileges for up to 60 days. The second time, it's up to six months. For any subsequent suspensions, it's up to one year.
You must give your license to the Department of Public Safety or to the courts. Once you do, a license reinstatement date can be set.
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your driver’s license, you can order a driving record report. This record will spell out if your driver’s license is currently valid. Should your license have been revoked or suspended, the report will indicate that according to what’s on record at the DPS. This report will also show points against your license and, in some cases, information on any accidents you have had.
Once your reinstatement date arrives, you will need to pay the $50 reinstatement fee, plus any application fees at the exam station. You will not need to take any tests, unless your license has expired in the meantime.
If you have a restricted minor's permit and your license was suspended, there is no charge to have your license reinstated. (Unless your offense carried six or more points; then, the normal fees apply.) However, if your license was revoked, you will need to pay the $50 reinstatement fee, plus the application fee.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- DMV Point System Basics: What Are Points and How Do I Get Rid of Them?
- The Perils of Accumulating Driving Record Points
- How Long Points Stay on Your Driving Record
- Actions That Lead to the Loss of Driving Privileges
- How to Check Your DMV Points
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.