Menu

Motorcycle Registration in South Dakota

All South Dakota residents must register their motorcycles with the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) before riding the Mount Rushmore State's roadways.

Whether you've just moved to SD or are a long-time resident, this guide will teach you all you need to know about registering your bike.

Looking to renew your motorcycle registration? Head over to our South Dakota registration renewal guide for more.

New to South Dakota

After moving to South Dakota, you'll have 90 days after arrival to register your bike with the DMV.

You'll need to present the following items at your local South Dakota county treasurer's office:

Want more tips for making your move as smooth as possible? Check out our helpful South Dakota moving guide.

Register Your SD Motorcycle

The process for registering your motorcycle with the SD Division of Motor Vehicles varies depending on whether you purchased the motorcycle from a dealership OR a private seller.

Need to title your motorcycle as well? Check out our title transfers guide for more.

Motorcycles Purchased at Dealerships

When you purchase a new or used motorcycle at South Dakota a dealership, the dealer usually handles the registration for you. For a breakdown of what you'll pay, see our section on motorcycle registration fees and taxes.

Before leaving the dealership, double check to make sure there isn't any additional paperwork or documentation needed to register your bike. Some dealers may provide you with a temporary registration until you receive your official tags and plates in the mail.

Motorcycles Purchased from Private Sellers

After buying a motorcycle from a private seller, you'll need to complete the process for registration yourself.

You'll have 45 days from the purchase date to register your bike by heading to your local South Dakota DMV office with the following:

The private seller may provide you with a seller's permit, allowing you to ride your motorcycle while you wait for your permanent registration to arrive in the mail. Seller's permits are valid for 45 days and can be printed by the seller through the online customer portal.

Buyers may also purchase a permit from the county treasurer's office, which is good for either 5 days OR 15 days depending on which option you choose. Prices vary depending on the county.

SD Motorcycle Registration Taxes & Fees

You may be required to pay the following fees and taxes when registering your motorcycle with the South Dakota Division of Motor Vehicles:

  • Motorcycle registration (12 months)—Based on the engine size and age of your bike:
    • Motorcycles less than 350 CC:
      • 0 through 9 years old: $18.
      • 10 years old or more: $12.60.
    • Motorcycles 350 CC to 1,000 CC:
      • 0 through 9 years old: $21.
      • 10 years old or more: $14.70.
    • Motorcycles greater than 1,000 CC:
      • 0 through 9 years old: $24.
      • 10 years old or more: $16.80.
  • Late registration—For applications submitted more than:
    • After 45 days following the motorcycle's purchase date:
      • 1% of the vehicle excise tax OR $5 (whichever is greater) for the first 1 month.
      • 1% of the vehicle excise tax for each 1 month thereafter.
    • After 60 days following the motorcycle's purchase date:
      • 10% of the vehicle excise tax OR $10 (whichever's greater) in addition to the late penalties above.
  • Title fee: $10.
  • Solid waste fee: $1.
  • Highway patrol fee: $1.
  • Lien notation fee IF your vehicle is financed: $10.
  • Mailing fee IF tags are mailed to you: $5.
  • Excise tax*: Up to 4% of the motorcycle's retail value listed by the National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA). If you still have questions about the fees associated with registering your motorcycle, give the SD DMV a call at (605) 773-3541.
*Only required if you haven't paid at least 4% in excise tax on the motorcycle in another state.

Related Content

Provide Feedback

DMV.org BBB Business Review
11,242

Number of Organ Donors who registered through DMV.org

Looking for Motorcycle Registration in Another State?