Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in South Dakota
Staying as safe as possible can go a long way to making sure you aren't hit with the extremely high costs that can be associated with getting into an an accident. Still, no matter how safe you are, accidents happen. This is why it is so important to have a good motorcycle insurance policy. Not to mention the fact that South Dakota requires it.
Two-Wheeled Vehicles Defined
If you're unsure about whether your bike requires registration (thus mandating motorcycle insurance), call the Motor Vehicles Division (MVD) at (605) 773-3541.
South Dakota Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
To comply with South Dakota's motorcycle insurance laws you must have liability insurance to help pay for any property damage or bodily injuries suffered by others in an accident that you cause.
Your motorcycle insurance policy must include the following minimum coverage limits per accident:
- $25,000 for injury/death to one person.
- $50,000 for injury/death to 2 or more people.
- $25,000 for damage to property.
Keep in mind that these are only the minimum requirements. You have the option of purchasing higher limits. You should consider doing this if you have assets that you feel you need to protect should you be involved in a lawsuit after after a crash.
Before inking your name to a policy, take the time to research motorcycle insurance quotes from a variety of carriers. Shopping around may help you uncover a substantially cheaper rate. And don't forget that you always have the option to maximize your protection with additional types of coverage.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
Motorcycle insurance coverage, regardless of the amount, has no bearing on the state's helmet law. As is, helmets are only mandatory for riders younger than 18.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
If a law enforcement officer requests proof of insurance, you must provide:
- A current insurance identification card, supplied by your carrier.
- A Certificate of Deposit issued by the State Treasurer.
- A Certificate of Self-Insurance.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
If caught riding without motorcycle insurance, you'll be charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor and face the following penalties:
- A $100 fine and possibly 30 days in the county jail.
- A suspended license for up to one year.
- The requirement to file proof of insurance (SR-22) with the state for three years. If you allow your insurance to lapse during this period you'll face immediate registration, license, and license plate suspension.
- Higher insurance premiums.
If you need more information about the penalties for having no proof of insurance―and how to satisfy them―contact the MVD at (605) 773-3541.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!