Disability Plates and Placards in South DakotaPage Overview
- Types of South Dakota Disability Permits
- Apply for SD Disability Parking
- Renew Disability Placards & Plates
- Replace a Handicap Permit in SD
- Related Content
Verified As Of: 05/18/2015?Our goal is to give you the most up-to-date, accurate information about your state DMV's processes. The date you see here reflects the most recent time we've verified this information with your state DMV. When they change something, we do, too!
Keep reading for more information about the disability placards and plates available in South Dakota.
The South Dakota Department of Revenue (DOR) issues both placards and license plates for handicapped parking:
- The disability placard is a removable tag that you hang on the front side of your rearview mirror. Placards are available for:
- Temporary disabilities.
- Permanent disabilities.
- The disabled reserved parking license plate replaces the standard license plate that the state issues and are available for permanent disabilities only.
Disabled Parking Regulations
With a disabled parking placard and/or license plate in SD, you can park in any space designated for disabled vehicles.
You CANNOT park in spaces that do not allow stopping or parking at any time or spaces reserved for specialized vehicles.
If you are visiting South Dakota, you can use your home state placard or license plate for handicapped parking in the state.
You can apply for a disabled placard or plate from your South Dakota county treasurer’s office either:
- By mail.
- In person.
To apply for either a disability placard or license plate, you will need:
- An Application for Physically Disabled Parking Permit and License Plates (Form MV-044).
- The medical certification must be completed on the form by your doctor.
- Proof of residence IF you are applying for license plates. Acceptable proof includes your:
- SD driver's license.
- SD utility bill.
- Payment for applicable fees:
Submit your application to your local SD county treasurer by mail or in person.
Disabled Veteran License Plate
You can apply for a disabled veteran license plate IF you meet any of the following criteria:
- You have received a VA K Award.
- You have an automobile under Public Law 187.
- You receive a benefit for loss of use of an extremity or complete loss.
- You get a total disability allotment for a service-related disability.
To apply for a SD disabled veteran plate you'll need:
- The South Dakota Military License Plate Application (Form MV-4000).
- Payment for fees:
- $10 license plate fee.
- $5 mailing fee.
Submit the application and fee by mail or in person to your local South Dakota DOR office.
Disability placards and license plates in SD expire and must be renewed after a certain time period:
- Temporary placards: Valid for up to 1 year.
- Permanent placards: Valid for 5 years.
- License plates: Valid for the length of your vehicle registration.
To renew a handicap placard, you will need the Application for Physically Disabled Parking Permit and License Plates (Form MV-044).
- Temporary placard renewal: Medical certification is required.
- Permanent placard renewal: NO medical certification is required.
Submit your renewal form to the SD DOR either:
- By mail.
- In person.
You can renew your permanent disability placard up to 90 days before it expires.
If you have a disability license plate, you must renew your SD vehicle registration for your plate to be valid.
If your disability parking placard is lost, stolen, or damaged, you must request a replacement from the south Dakota DOR. Contact your county treasurer for more information.
If you have a lost, stolen, or damaged license plate, you must:
Recommended ArticlesOther Topics in This Section
- Report loss or theft to local law enforcement.
- Complete the Affidavit for Duplicate License Plate/Validation Sticker (Form MV-102).
- Complete the Application for Physically Disabled Parking Permit and License Plates (Form MV-044).
- Pay the replacement fees:
- Replacement license plate: $10.
- Mailing fee: $5.
- Submit the required forms and fees to your South Dakota DOR office either by mail or in person.