Menu

Dealer-related Information in South Dakota

Here are a few dealer odds-and-ends that you might find helpful.

License Renewal

Your dealer license will need to be renewed every year. You should receive a renewal notice in the mail about 3 months before the expiration date.

Make sure that the information contained in the notice is correct; if it isn't, make the necessary changes. Then, sign the form and take it to the treasurer of the county where your dealership is located. You'll need to pay the renewal fee and dealer plate fees at the same time.

If you miss the expiration deadline, you'll have to pay the $300 initial fee instead of the cheaper renewal fee of $175.

License Renewal Fees

  • Vehicle Dealer―$175
  • Used Vehicle Dealer―$175
  • Boat Dealer― $175
  • Mobile/Manufactured Home Dealer―$150
  • Motorcycle Dealer―$150
  • Snowmobile Dealer―$125
  • Trailer Dealer―$100

If you have several types of dealer licenses, they all must be renewed during the month that's been given to you.

Dealer Laws

As you might imagine, there are a lot of laws concerning dealers. The majority of these rules and regulations are found in Chapter 32 of the South Dakota Codified Laws .

Out-of-State Dealers

If you're an out-of-state dealer and need a temporary permit to sell your products at a South Dakota event, here's a list of the types of permits available and their cost.

The permits are valid for 10 days from the issue date.

Contact Information

If you have dealer-related questions or need advice, here are some good places to look to for help:

  • Motor Vehicles Division
  • 445 E. Capitol Ave.
  • Pierre, SD 57501
  • Phone: (605) 773-3541
  • Fax: (605) 773-2550

  • Dealer Licensing Office
  • 445 E. Capitol Ave.
  • Pierre, SD 57501
  • Phone: (605) 773-4416
  • Fax: (605) 773-2549
  • E-mail: motorv@state.sd.us

Dealer Inspectors

Field dealer inspectors are also located throughout the state to help answer question, provide training, and uphold regulations.

Related Content

Provide Feedback

Looking for Dealer-related Information in Another State?