- Location: South Dakota
Applying for a New CDL in South Dakota
Get Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:Page Overview
- Commercial Driver's Instruction Permit
- Commercial Driver's License Testing
- Your New License
- Additional Information
- New Federal Requirements
- Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act
- CDL Classes for Every State
- Requirements for Medical Certification
- Minimum Training Requirements
- Hazmat Background Checks
You'll need to be at least 16 to get a CDL permit, and have a valid Class 1 or 2 operator's license. (Meaning that if you have motorcycle-only license, you won't qualify.)
If you haven't already done so, you should pick up a copy of the Commercial Driver License Manual, available at exam stations, and also by download. You will need to thoroughly know the material contained in the manual in order to take the next step.
The next step, of course, is obtaining your permit. This means having to pass at least one knowledge test, and possibly more.
The number of tests you'll need to take―and pass― depends on the license class and endorsements you're after. We've provided the list of tests available, along with who needs to take the test, and how many questions are on each test.
By the way, you'll need to pass each test by answering at least 80% of the answers correctly. (The average CDL applicant receives a score of 89%.)
- General Knowledge (50 questions)―all applicants must take this test.
- Passenger Transport (20 questions)―all bus driver applicants.
- Passenger School Bus (30 questions)―all school bus applicants.
- Air Brakes (25 questions)―all applicants intending to drive vehicles equipped with air brakes.
- Combination Vehicles (20 questions)―all combination vehicle applicants.
- Hazardous Materials (30 questions)―all applicants who want to drive placarded hazardous materials or hazardous waste vehicles; must be at least 21 to apply.
- Tanker (20 questions)―all applicants wanting to haul liquids in bulk.
- Double/Triples―double- or triple-trailer applicants.
Once you feel ready for your knowledge testing, head to an exam station. Bring your current license with you. You don't need to make an appointment to take the tests. The general knowledge test costs $15. The extra tests for endorsements cost $10 each.
If you pass all of the necessary tests and pay the $15 permit fee, you will be issued a CDL permit, which will expire in six months. You may renew it, but only once within a two-year period.
The permit allows you to drive a commercial vehicle, but only when accompanied by a CDL-holder, who is at least 21 years old. Also, the accompanying CDL-holder must have a valid CDL for the type of vehicle that you are driving.
Once you feel confident enough with your driving skills, you may move on to the next step ... applying for your commercial driver's license.
To obtain your license, you'll need to pass the skills test.
These tests are conducted only at third-party sites. You should contact the site in your area for information about testing times, appointments, costs, and other matters. You may also call Driver Licensing at (605) 773-3541 for more information.
The skills test is actually composed of three tests: the pre-trip inspection, basic vehicle control, and road tests.
Pre-trip Vehicle Inspection
For this test, you will go around the vehicle, explaining the significance of various parts, and how to correctly inspect them for safety. (The manual contains this information.)
Basic Vehicle Control
This will test how skilled you are at controlling your vehicle. You'll be asked to drive through an assortment of maneuvers using traffic cones or lines as boundaries.
Your score will depend on how many times you stay within the boundaries while performing the maneuvers, and the number of pull-ups you do.
This will test you on how well you perform in a variety of situations that you'd normally come across as a driver. The route you'll take and the actions you'll perform will be determined by your examiner. Expect, however, to make both left and right turns, to travel through intersections, tackle curves, go up and down grades, and to drive on city roads, rural roads, and expressways,
You'll be judged on how well you do in these situations, including how well you merge into traffic, change lanes, handle lane positioning, and control your speed.
You'll need to take the test in the type of vehicle you'll be driving if you get your license.
If you pass all the necessary tests, you will be given your commercial driver license at a cost of $15. The license is valid for five years and will expire on your birthday.
For more information about licensing procedures call the Driver Licensing Program at (605) 773-3541, or send an e-mail to:
You must self-certify your type of vehicle operation with South Dakota's DPS by January 2014. This means you must self-certify one of the following driving categories:
- Non-Excepted Interstate
- Excepted Interstate
- Non-Excepted Intrastate
- Excepted Intrastate
If you choose Non-Excepted Interstate, you must, in addition to a completed self-certification application, provide the DPS with a federal medical certificate.
Questions? The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's website provides detailed information.
The Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 was designed to improve highway safety. Its purpose was to ensure that drivers of commercial vehicles are qualified to drive them, and to remove unsafe drivers from the highways. The Act didn't require federal driver licensing―states still license commercial drivers―but it established minimum standards that states must meet when issuing commercial driver's licenses (CDLs). It required states to upgrade their existing programs to follow the new federal standards.
Before the Act was passed, many commercial vehicle drivers operated vehicles they were not properly trained on or qualified to drive. Even in states that had separate license classes, drivers were not necessarily tested in the types of vehicles they would be driving. States must now test commercial drivers according to federal standards, to ensure that drivers know how to operate the trucks or buses they intend to drive.
The Act also made it illegal to have more than one driver's license. You can hold a regular or commercial driver's license, but not both. You can have one license from the state you reside in, but not from any other states. In the past, bad drivers could more easily hide their driving histories by getting several licenses. Today, all the states are connected to a national database to check driver histories.
To be eligible for a CDL, you must have a clean driving record. Federal regulations require you to pass a physical exam every two years. To operate a commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce, you must be at least 21. Many states allow those as young as 18 to drive commercial vehicles within the state. You must be able to read and speak English well enough to read road signs, prepare reports, and communicate with the public and with law enforcement.
The Act established three separate classes of commercial driver's licenses. Every state issues licenses in these categories:
- Class A: Any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GWVR) of 26,001 or more pounds, provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds.
- Class B: Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR.
- Class C: Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or is placarded for hazardous materials.
Many states make exceptions for farm vehicles, snow removal vehicles, fire and emergency vehicles, and some military vehicles.
To be licensed for certain types of commercial vehicles, extra testing is required. If you pass, you will receive an endorsement on your CDL. These are the five endorsements that you can apply for. Each requires between one and five knowledge (written) tests, and two require driving (skills) tests.
- T―Double/Triple Trailers (knowledge test only)
- P―Passenger (knowledge and skills tests)
- N―Tank Vehicle (knowledge test only)
- H―Hazardous Materials (knowledge test only)
- S―School Buses (knowledge and skills tests)
In the interest of public safety on the highways, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) regulations require interstate commercial drivers to be medically fit to operate their vehicles safely and competently. You are required to have a physical exam and carry a U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) medical certificate if:
- You operate a motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or gross combination weight rating (GCWR) or gross vehicle weight (GVW) or gross combination weight (GCW) of 4,536 kilograms (10,001 pounds) or more in interstate commerce.
- You operate a motor vehicle designed or used to transport more than 15 passengers, including the driver, in interstate commerce.
- You operate a motor vehicle designed or used to transport between nine and 15 passengers, for direct compensation, beyond 75 air miles from your regular work-reporting location, in interstate commerce.
- You transport hazardous materials in quantities requiring placards, in interstate commerce.
You must carry a current copy of your medical examination certificate with you when you drive. Residents of Mexico or Canada who drive in the United States can be certified by doctors in their countries, provided they meet the U.S. requirements.
There are no federal standards in place for on-the-road commercial driver training. The government only requires that you take and pass your CDL knowledge (written) and skills (driving) tests. Longer-combination-vehicle (LCV) drivers must receive training in driver wellness, driver qualifications, hours of service, and whistleblower protection.
South Dakota's commercial driver's manual is a good place to learn basic information, but you will need to be professionally trained to drive a commercial motor vehicle.
In order to pass your driving skills tests, you will need to learn how to inspect vehicles before driving, how to couple and uncouple tractors and trailers, and you must have plenty of practice driving. This includes driving in different conditions and on different road surfaces, turning, parking, backing up, and braking.
Many motor carriers train their employees, while other drivers take courses at private driving schools, vocational or technical schools, and community colleges. Individual states often approve or certify training courses. The Professional Truck Driver Institute (PTDI) has set minimum standards for training curriculums and certifies driver training courses that meet industry and Federal Highway Administration (FHA) guidelines. Many employers require their drivers to take PTDI-approved training.
Some states may specify minimum training guidelines. Check with South Dakota's motor vehicles department to see if there are minimum training requirements to get your CDL.
Under the USA PATRIOT Act, commercial drivers transporting hazardous materials (hazmat) must pass a background records check and be fingerprinted. The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) is responsible for conducting the background checks for all commercial drivers with hazmat endorsements or who want to add hazmat endorsements to their licenses. The TSA developed this program to carry out the USA PATRIOT Act mandate and protect citizens from the potential threat of terrorists using hazmat cargo. The requirement is a result of the USA PATRIOT Act (Public Law 107-56, Section 1012) and the Safe Explosives Act (Public Law 107-296, Section 1121-1123), ARS 28-3103(A)(2), and 49 CFR 1572.
If the TSA disqualifies you because of your background, you can appeal their finding or seek a waiver. However, if you are found guilty of a disqualifying crime, you must declare any disqualifying conditions and surrender your hazmat endorsement (if you already have it) to your state's department of motor vehicles or other licensing agency.
Applying for a Hazardous Materials Background Check
After you get a CDL, apply for a background check from the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) if you'll be obtaining a hazardous materials endorsement. You may do this online or by contacting a TSA agent. They will ask for:
- Your CDL or CDL permit number.
- Proof of legal status.
- Proof of Identity.
Next, the TSA will ask you to go to a fingerprint office to give your fingerprints. The TSA and the FBI will conduct background investigations. You will pay:
- $38 for fingerprints.
- $34 for the TSA background check.
- $17.25 for the FBI background check.
The TSA attempts to finish background checks within 30 days. You will be notified by mail. If you are approved, you can then go to your state's licensing authority (wherever you got your CDL) to complete your hazmat application process. If you are denied, you can appeal or seek a waiver.
- Hazmat endorsements must be renewed at least every five years.
- Your state might require renewal more often.
- Get a new background check each time you renew your hazmat endorsement.
You must arrange for the background check no less than 30 days before the expiration of your current approval, or your CDL may be canceled.
Conviction of any of the following crimes will disqualify you from being eligible for a hazmat endorsement:
- Assault with intent to murder
- Kidnapping or hostage-taking
- Rape or aggravated sexual abuse
- Immigration violations
- RICO (Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act) violations
- Unlawful possession, use, sale, distribution, or manufacture of an explosive device, firearm, or other weapon
- Distribution of, intent to distribute, possession, or importation of a controlled substance
- Dishonesty, fraud, or misrepresentation, including identity fraud
- Crimes involving a severe transportation security incident
- Improper transportation of a hazardous material
- Conspiracy or attempt to commit any of these crimes
Remember that your state also has its own guidelines that may be stricter than the federal ones. For more information, consult your employer, the DMV, or the Federal Motor Carrier Association.Articles
- Getting Behind the Wheel of a Big Rig: How to Land a Trucking Job
- Want to Do Even More with Your CDL? CDL Classes and Endorsements
- CDL Holders: Completing the Medical Exam Report Requirement
- How to Apply for a Hazardous Materials Endorsement
- Commercial Driver’s License Requirements: Do You Have What It Takes?
- How to Prepare for the CDL Test