Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Suspended CDL in South Carolina

    Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions in South Carolina

    If your South Carolina commercial driver’s license (CDL) has been disqualified or suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you’ll need to satisfy your suspension requirements to reinstate it.

    Your CDL may be disqualified, suspended, or revoked for reasons including:

    • Driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol.
    • Refusing to submit a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
    • Serious traffic violations.
    • Reckless driving.
    • Driving without the proper endorsements.
    • Violating an out-of-service order.

    On this page you’ll find information about your disqualification and how to reinstate your CDL.

    About Your Suspended CDL in SC

    The duration and terms of your CDL disqualification will vary depending on your offense.

    You may need to receive additional suspensions and fines from the court if you were convicted of a crime.

    For information about your specific suspension, contact the South Carolina DMV:

    Your CDL and privilege to drive a commercial vehicle are subject to both state and federal regulations. These include disqualifications for:

    • 1 year: 1st violation for a major offense such as:
      • DUI or drug-related offenses.
      • Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
      • Hit and runs.
      • Using your commercial vehicle in a felony.
    • 3 years: 1st violation while transporting hazardous materials.
    • Life: 2nd violation for a major offense.
    • 60 to 120 days for multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years. These violations include:
      • Speeding.
      • Reckless driving.
      • Driving without the necessary endorsements.
    • 60 to 120 days for railroad highway grade crossing violations, depending on the number of violations you’ve committed.

    If you receive a traffic conviction while driving your commercial vehicle, you must notify your employer within 30 days.

    NOTE: You can be charged with a DUI if you are driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or higher.

    For more information on federal regulations and penalties, please see the FMCSA website.

    Your CDL can also be suspended for violations and offenses committed in a non-commercial vehicle. For more information, please see our Suspended License in South Carolina page.

    Check Your CDL Status

    Your South Carolina driving record will include the violations you’ve committed and the points you’ve accumulated.

    You can check the status of your CDL and view any reinstatement requirements on the SCDMV website. You’ll need to enter your:

    • Driver’s license number.
    • Social Security number (SSN).
    • Date of birth.

    CDL Suspension Hearings in SC

    If you want to contest your CDL disqualification, you can request an administrative hearing in person at the South Carolina Administrative Law Court:

    1205 Pendleton Street, Suite 224
    Edgar A. Brown Building
    Columbia, SC 29201

    Call (803) 734-0550 for more information on requesting a hearing.

    Reinstate Your SC Commercial Driver’s License

    The requirements to reinstate your South Carolina CDL will vary depending on the circumstances of your disqualification/suspension and whether your non-commercial driving privileges are also suspended.

    To reinstate your CDL, you may need to:

    • Satisfy any court requirements and pay outstanding fines.
    • Complete an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program, for alcohol-related offenses.
    • Re-take the commercial driver’s license knowledge and driving skills tests.
    • Pay the reinstatement fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your South Carolina CDL” below.)

    For reinstatement requirements specific to your situation, contact the South Carolina DMV.

    You can pay your reinstatement fees online on the SCDMV website. You’ll need to enter your:

    • Driver’s license number.
    • Social Security number (SSN).
    • Date of birth.

    If you are unable to pay the full reinstatement fee, you may be eligible for a payment plan. To check your eligibility, visit the SCDMV website and enter your information.

    Fees to Reinstate Your South Carolina CDL

    The South Carolina DMV charges the following general fees for license reinstatements and restricted licenses:

    • Reinstatement fee: $100.
    • Provisional driver’s license: $100.
    • Knowledge test: $2.
    • CDL application: $15.

    NOTE: You may need to pay additional fees depending on your specific disqualification.

    For more fee information, contact the South Carolina DMV.

    Acceptable Forms of Payment

    The SCDMV accepts the following forms of payment:

    • In person: Cash, check, credit/debit card.
    • Online: Credit/debit card only.

    Obtain a SC Restricted License

    If your South Carolina driver’s license was suspended for a DUI, you may be eligible for a provisional license if you:

    • Have no other pending suspensions.
    • Are enrolled in an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program.
    • Have an SR22 filed with the SCDMV.
    • Pay the provisional driver’s license fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your South Carolina CDL”below.)

    For more information, please call the South Carolina DMV at (803) 896-5000 or visit the website.

    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip: