- Location: South Carolina
Safety Laws in South CarolinaCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:Page Overview
While riding in a vehicle, children under the age of six need to be properly restrained by an approved child safety seat.
However, additional conditions apply:
- Children under the age of one or weighing less than 20 pounds must be in a rear-facing child safety seat.
- Children between the ages of one and five, weighing between 20 to 40 pounds, must be in a forward-facing child safety seat.
- Children between the ages of one and five, weighing between 40 to 80 pounds, must be in a belt-positioning booster seat.
- Regardless of age, children weighing over 80 pounds or those who can can sit erect against the car seat and bend their legs over the seat's edge are not required to be in a booster seat.
In general, children under six years old cannot ride in the front seat. But, this stipulation is waived if the vehicle doesn't have a back seat, or if the back seat is occupied by other children under the age of six.
To ensure a safety seat has been properly installed, visit an Office of Highway Safety fitting station. For more information, call (877) 349-7187.
With a few exceptions, everyone riding in a vehicle is required to wear a properly-fastened safety belt.
A police officer has the right to pull over a vehicle just because a rider was clearly observed not wearing a seat belt.
Drivers are responsible for ensuring that all passengers under the age of 18 are properly secured. But, riders under the age of 18 who have their own driver's license, special restricted license, or beginner's permit, are responsible for their own conduct.
Drivers can be fined up to $25 per violation, up to a total of $50 per traffic stop. However, no points will be assessed for the offense.
Headlights must be turned on whenever driving between 30 minutes after sunset, until 30 minutes before sunrise, and whenever conditions make it impossible to clearly see at least 500 feet ahead.
This includes any time windshield wipers are being used, unless they are merely being used on an intermittent basis to deal with misting rain, snow, or sleet.
High beams cannot be used within 500 feet of approaching vehicles, or when within 200 feet of a vehicle heading in the same direction.
As of March 2011, there are no statewide restrictions on cell phone use or texting.
Anyone under the age of 21 riding on a motorcycle must wear a helmet.
Additionally, all riders under 21 must wear protective goggles or a face shield, unless the bike is equipped with a wind screen.
South Carolina doesn't have any statewide rules specifically addressing the issue of leaving children unattended in a vehicle. However, deliberately endangering a child is against the law.
Use common sense and know that children(or pets) left are subject to getting ill or dying from the temperature (hot or cold), kidnapping, and getting out of their seats and into mischief. If you see a child locked in a car in a dangerous situation, call 911 and stay with the car. It's always better to be safe than sorry.Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- California Bans Use of Cell Phone GPS While Driving
- Teen Driver Safety: Seat Belt Use
- Headlight Laws Vary Little Throughout the Nation