- Location: South Carolina
Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in South Carolina
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
According to state law, a "moped" means a cycle with pedals to permit propulsion by human power or without pedals and with a motor of not more than 50 cubic centimeters, with not more than 1.5 brake horsepower and which can't go over 35 miles an hour on level ground. If an internal combustion engine is used, the moped must have a power drive system that functions directly or automatically without clutching or shifting by the operator after the drive system is engaged.
You may need to register your moped with the SCDMV. Contact the DMV at (803) 896-5000 for more information.
You'll also need to obtain a Class M Motorcycle endorsement on your regular driver's license for some vehicles, so check with your local DMV to see whether it is required for your bike or one you may be considering.
If you're 15 years old or older and already have a driver's license, you don't need a special endorsement or a moped license to ride a moped. You must be at least 14 years old to ride a street-legal moped, and you'll need a moped permit or moped license to do so.
Many of us are concerned about rising gas costs and are seeking more fuel-efficient ways to travel. Purchasing a sporty street-legal moped or scooter is a fun and economical way to lower your gas consumption. Let DMV.org help you research these alternative vehicles by visiting the links listed below.
For education and research:
- Transporting Your Motorcycle
- Electric Vehicles That Classify as a Motorcycle
- How to Fall/Lie Down the Bike
- Motorcycle Rallies/Events; Sturgis
- Scooters 101
- Must-Have Accessories
- Theft Prevention
- Finding a Trustworthy Mechanic
- Vintage Motorcycles and Scooters