- Location: South Carolina
Motorcycle License in South Carolina
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
South Carolina requires that you pass vision, written, and skills tests to get your motorcycle license.
Chapter 5: Cycles of the South Carolina Driver License Manual, available online using the free Adobe Reader, covers everything you need to know about motorcycles and mopeds. Or, you can pick up a copy at your local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to study before taking any of the tests.
The state'l Motorcycle Manual section outlines the highlights of the chapter, as well.
South Carolina does have a helmet law. Riders younger than 21 must wear an approved helmet at all times when riding or driving a motorcycle; those 21 and and older are encouraged to do so. The state's motorcycle manual provides guidelines for choosing a helmet.
All applicants must be at least age 15, and applicants under the age of 18 must first pass a driver education course before applying. The completed Form PDLA, will certify school attendance and practice driving time.
Note that all applicants under the age of 18 must also have a parent or legal guardian present when signing the application.
If you are an adult driver over the age of 18, you will need to take the following information and forms of identification to the DMV when you apply for your motorcycle license:
- Certified birth certificate
- Social Security card
- Proof of residency
- Proof of insurance
- The appropriate fees―$12.50 for five years and $25 for 10 years
NOTE: If you want to renew your motorcycle beginner permit, you are now required to first make an attempt to pass the motorcycle road test.
The Motorcycle Safety Foundation offers a safety course for motorcycle riders throughout the state.
The 15-hour course is offered over consecutive weekends, or a few days. It provides riders with hands-on motorcycle driving experience and covers all aspects of bike riding. Taking the course will also help reduce your insurance rates as much as 20%.
People wishing to operate a moped in South Carolina must be at least age 14, already have a driver's license, motorcycle license, permit, or moped license.
Applicants for a moped operator's license are required to submit the same documents as for any other license.Articles
- 5 Important Steps If You Lost Your Drivers License
- I-94 Forms and Arriving in the U.S.
- What to do if the Colorado Floods Damaged Your Car
- 9 Urgent Must-Dos If You Lose Your Driver’s License
- 7 Reasons Student Drivers Fail Their Written Permit Exam
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard