Applying for a New License (Drivers 18+) in South Carolina
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Two reasons for applying for a new license in South Carolina would be if you are a new resident to the state, or if you have never held a driver's license, regardless of your age.
- Class D (regular passenger license)
- Class E (non-commercial single unit vehicles, such as trucks and motor homes)
- Class F (non-commercial combination vehicles, such as trucks and motor homes with a towed trailer or vehicle)
- Class G (moped)
- Class M (motorcycle)
- Commercial (CDL) A, B and C
NOTE: If you've never owned a driver's license, you must hold a beginner's permit for a minimum of 180 days before being cleared to apply for a license.
Younger than 18―Driver education is required.
18 and Older―Although not mandated by the state, you should consider enrolling in a driver education course, such as the one offered by our sponsor. A supplementary driver education course will provide you with invaluable tips on how to be a better driver.
South Carolina's Driver's Manual is your single-best source on preparing for the written exam. All of the questions on the test are based on material contained in the manual.
Written tests are given on a walk-in basis at any Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office.
Bring with you:
- Your Social Security number
- Proof of identity
- Proof of U.S. citizenship
- Proof of South Carolina residency
- Proof of insurance
- A parent or guardian, if younger than 18
- Cash or check to pay a $2 test fee and, if you pass, a $2.50 beginner's permit fee
After studying the Driver's Manual and meeting all of the requirements described above, you'll be ready to take the written and vision tests.
If you fail you must wait at least one business day to take the test again.
NOTE: Tests are offered in English, Spanish, German and French.
As you get closer to obtaining a license, you'll eventually need a car. Owning a vehicle will allow you to practice, outside of a driver training program, and give you the needed confidence before taking the road test.
Before buying, be sure to get a vehicle history report on any used car you're considering. This will help shield you from any undetected defects (such as odometer fraud) and potentially expensive repair costs.
Car insurance, regardless if you own a permit or a license, is mandatory. To weigh different rates and learn more, visit our Insurance center.
If you hold a license from another state you DO NOT have to take the road test provided your license is current or has not been expired for more than nine months.
Bring to the test:
- Proof, if under 18, that you completed a driver ed course and you've held a permit for a minimum of 180 days.
- A car in good working condition that's legally registered and insured.
Once You Pass
You'll be issued your new license, right there at the test location.
If You Fail
You must wait at least one business day or at the return time set by your examiner to take the test again.
You are allowed to travel in the state with your foreign license provided it is valid and accompanied by an International Driving Permit. If, however, you remain in South Carolina for more than 90 days, you must apply for a South Carolina driver's license.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.