Search
Search & Choose State

  • Ticket Fines and Penalties in Rhode Island

    Rhode Island Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs

    Rhode Island traffic ticket fines vary by violation, but each violation’s fine costs the same throughout the state.

    Currently, most traffic tickets are $75. This includes moving violations such as following too closely, not using a turn signal, and eluding a traffic light.

    However, speeding tickets are higher. Speeding up to 10 miles over the posted limited costs $85, and 11 miles or more over costs a minimum of $195 with a $10 fine for each mile over.

    Your ticket should include the exact fine; if it doesn’t, contact your Ticket Tribunal or Municipal Court.

    NOTE: Our Lost WY Traffic Tickets section can help you retrieve lost citation information.

    Court Costs and Other Surcharges

    Typically, court costs are the same throughout the state, too. Right now, expect to pay around $35.

    DUI Surcharges

    First Violation:

    • BAC 0.08%-0.10%: $100-$300 fine; $500 highway safety assessment fee; $86 fee.
    • BAC 0.10%-0.15%: $100-$400 fine; $500 highway safety assessment fee; $86 fee.
    • BAC 0.15% or Higher: $500 fine; $500 highway safety assessment fee; $86 fee.

    Second Violation:

    NOTE: These fines pertain to 2nd violations within a 5 year period.

    • BAC 0.08%-0.15%: $400 fine; $500 highway safety assessment fee; $86 fee.
    • BAC 0.15% or Higher: $1,000 fine; $500 highway safety assessment fee; $86 fee.

    Third and Subsequent Violations:

    NOTE: These fines pertain to 3rd and subsequent violations within a 5 year period.

    • BAC 0.08%-0.15%: $400 fine; $500 highway safety assessment fee; $86 fee.
    • BAC 0.15% or Higher: $1,000-$5,000; $500 highway safety assessment fee; $86 fee.

    Involving Serious Bodily Injury:

    • First Violation: $1,000-$5,000.
    • Second Violation (within 5 year period): $3,000-$10,000.

    Involving Death:

    • First Violation: $5,000-$10,000.
    • Second Violation (within 5 year period): $10,000-$20,000.

    These fines and fees are just the beginning. Depending on your BAC, the offense number, and whether it’s a misdemeanor or felony, you face community service, incarceration, license suspension or revocation, a course on driving impaired, and substance abuse assessment or treatment.

    Learn more at RI DUI.

    Pay Ticket
    (Plead Guilty or No Contest)

    • Pay the fine, possibly online.
    • Risk suspended license or other penalties, like a habitual offender label.
    • Potentially receive the good driving record ticket dismissal.
    • Face increased auto insurance rates..

    Learn more about
    Paying your Traffic Ticket »

    Fight Ticket
    (Plead Not Guilty)

    • Plead not guilty at your arraignment.
    • Prepare and present your case at a hearing, possibly with a traffic ticket attorney.
    • Gain no penalties if found not guilty.
    • Appeal the guilty verdict (if applicable).

    Learn more about
    Fighting your Traffic Ticket »

    Auto Insurance Rate Increase

    Expect an increase in your auto insurance rates; it kind of comes with the territory when you plead guilty to or are found guilty of a traffic violation.

    Your provider might offer discounts for completing certain defensive driving courses (generally, your provider must choose eligible courses), but most Rhode Island drivers have better luck obtaining lower rates by comparing car insurance rates online and purchasing more affordable coverage.

    Registering a car?

    It's a good time to check car insurance rates

    Find the lowest rate among top providers.

    Rhode Island Traffic Ticket Penalties

    Some moving and traffic-related violations bring license suspensions and revocations, too.

    RI Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, Withdrawal, and Cancellation

    License Suspension: Suspension means a temporary loss of your driving privileges. Sometimes, you only have to wait until that period is over before you can apply to have them reinstated; other times, you must meet certain reinstatement requirements.

    License Revocation: Revocation means a more long-term loss of your driving privileges. Revocations are reserved for the most serious offenses.

    License Cancellation: Although license cancellation isn’t something Rhode Island drivers hear a lot about, the DMV can cancel a driver’s license for certain reasons, such as obtaining the license using false information or being unfit to safely operate a motor vehicle.

    The Rhode Island Driver’s Manual outlines traffic laws you must obey and the penalties for breaking them.

    For now, examples of violations that can result in a loss of driving privileges include:

    • Attempting to evade an officer.
    • Operating a motor vehicle on a designated bike path.
    • DWI- and DUI-related offenses.
    • Not stopping and rendering aid during an accident in which injury or death is involved.
    • Vehicular manslaughter.

    Habitual Offender Suspensions

    Rhode Island doesn’t use a point system, so you don’t have to worry about having your license suspended if you accumulate too many points.

    However, in addition to the above violations, the state will suspend your license if you obtain a habitual offender label.

    For more information about license suspensions please refer to our Suspended License page.

    Instant Rhode Island Driving Record

    Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record. Each record may include suspensions, points, classifications, vital data, endorsements, expiration and driving status.

    Name:
    License Number: RI