Suspended License in Rhode Island
If you would like or need to check your driver's license status, you can order a driving record report. The report will indicate if your driver's license is currently valid. Should your license have been suspended or revoked, the report will indicate that according to the records at the DMV. It will also show points against your license and, if appropriate, information on any accidents you have had.
Get your personal drivers´ license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
Challenging the rules of the road is not recommended. Besides the obvious risks of injury or loss of life, your antics could result in the suspension or revocation of your Rhode Island driver's license.
In addition, depending on the severity of your violation, you can face jail time, massive fines, or mandatory alcohol and drug education classes. Also, once your insurance carrier is notified, you can expect dramatically increased insurance premiums.
A suspended license means you lose your driving privileges for a court-ordered amount of time, usually anywhere from three to 18 months. Once your suspension expires, you are allowed to pursue license reinstatement.
Your Rhode Island driver's license can be suspended for any of the following reasons:
- Attempting to evade a marked police car after being signaled to stop
- Refusing an alcohol test
- Operating your vehicle on a designated bicycle path
- Carrying a controlled substance in your vehicle
A revoked license means long-term loss, usually amounting to three to 10 years, with no guarantee that you will be allowed to resume driving again. This is determined by a hearing officer with Operator Control (part of the Division of Motor Vehicles). Usually, your participation in a drug and alcohol education program or a driver safety course determines your fate.
Your Rhode Island driver's license can be revoked for any of the following reasons:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol
- Not stopping at an accident to offer aid when injury or death is involved
- Convicted for altering license to buy alcohol
- Vehicular manslaughter
Once your suspension or revocation period ends, you will be allowed to apply for reinstatement. There are no guarantees in this process. If a hearing officer with Operator Control deems you are safe to resume driving, you must visit any DMV location and bring:
- Your reinstatement notice
- One form of identification
- Your Social Security card
- Solid proof of your address
- Check or credit card to pay a $151.50 reinstatement fee ($351.50 if suspension due to DUI)
If you have questions, contact Operator Control at (401) 462-0800 or visit:
- Operator Control Division
- 600 New London Ave.
- Cranston, RI 02920
Rhode Island does not offer a hardship or provisional license. If your license is suspended or revoked, you won't be allowed to drive to and from work, school, medical appointments, or substance-abuse treatment programs.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.