Suspended CDL in Rhode Island
CDL Suspensions in Rhode Island
If your commercial driver’s license was disqualified or suspended by the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you’ll need to satisfy your disqualification requirements to reinstate your CDL.
Your CDL may be disqualified or suspended for violations committed in both commercial and non-commercial vehicles. Violations include:
- DUI/DWI offense and refusing to submit to a BAC test.
- Violating out-of-service orders.
- Hit and runs.
- Felonies involving a vehicle.
- Speeding and reckless driving.
- Driving a commercial vehicle without a CDL.
- Driving without the proper endorsements.
On this page you’ll find information about your disqualification and how to reinstate your CDL.
Your commercial driver license disqualification/suspension duration and reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense.
NOTE: If you were convicted of a crime, you may also face court penalties and fines.
Your CDL and commercial driving privileges are subject to state and federal regulations, including disqualifications lasting:
- 1 year for a 1st violation of a major offense, such as:
- DUI/DWI or drug-related offenses.
- Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- Hit and runs and leaving the scene of a truck accident.
- Using a vehicle in a felony.
- 3 years for a 1st violation of a major offense while transporting hazardous materials.
- A lifetime disqualification for a 2nd violation of a major offense.
- 60 – 120 days for multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years.
- 60 – 120 days for railroad highway grade crossing violations.
NOTE: Your CDL can be disqualified with a BAC of .04%.
Additionally, you must notify your employer:
- Within 30 days of any conviction for a traffic offense.
- By the end of the next business day after you receive your disqualification notice if your CDL is suspended, disqualified, revoked or cancelled.
When your CDL is suspended, the RI DMV will mail you a suspension/disqualification notice.
For information about your specific suspension/disqualification, contact the Rhode Island DMV Operator Control by phone (401) 462-0800 and provide your:
- Full name.
- Birth date.
- Driver license number.
NOTE: Your CDL can also be disqualified for noncommercial vehicle violations. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Rhode Island page.
Check Your Commercial Driver License Status
Traffic violations and accidents can lead to fines and driver license suspensions.
You can visit the RI DMV website or order your driving record to your driver license status.
Depending on the circumstances of your Rhode Island CDL disqualification/suspension, you may be able to request a hearing to contest the decision.
To request a hearing, you may need to:
- Refer to your suspension/disqualification notice.
- Contact the court that served your suspension.
- Contact the RI DMV Operator Control for more information.
- Phone: (401) 462-0800.
Get the legal help you need when your Rhode Island CDL is suspended. Contact a local attorney today.
Your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the circumstances of your violation and whether or not your non-commercial driving privileges are also suspended.
NOTE: Before you can reinstate your CDL and driving privileges, you may need to satisfy court requirements and pay fines if you were convicted of a crime for your offense.
Depending on your offense, you may need to:
- Complete an alcohol education or treatment program, if necessary.
- Retake and pass the commercial driving skills and knowledge tests.
- Pay any required fines or fees.
To reinstate your CDL, you may need to submit any required documents/fees and meet with a hearing officer in person at the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Operator Control office, which is located at:
600 New London Ave
Cranston, RI 02920
Once the Rhode Island DMV Operator Control has processed your reinstatement, you’ll need to visit your local Rhode Island DMV office and:
- Bring your CDL reinstatement notice.
- Provide a proof of your identity, with documents such as a:
- Birth certificate.
- U.S. passport.
- U.S. military ID.
- Provide a proof of your address, which could include:
- Voter registration cards.
- Utility bills.
- Bank statements.
- Pay your reinstatement and any commercial driver’s licensing fees. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your CDL in Rhode Island” below.)
The Rhode Island DMV website provides a complete list of acceptable identity and residency documents.
Your CDL reinstatement fees will vary depending on your offense. Below are general Rhode Island DMV fees that may apply to your CDL reinstatement.
NOTE: In addition to reinstatement fees, commercial drivers licensing and testing fees may also apply.
- Non-DUI/DWI suspension reinstatement: $151.50.
- DUI/DWI and BAC test refusal reinstatement: $351.50.
- CDL driving and knowledge tests: $26.50 each.
- CDL application: $10.
- Duplicate CDL: $26.50.
- CDL renewal valid 5 years: $81.50.
Acceptable Forms of Payment
The Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles accepts the following forms of payment for CDL reinstatements:
- Checks and money orders payable to “Division of Motor Vehicles.”
- MasterCard, Discover, Visa and American Express credit/debit cards.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!