Replacing a Lost Registration in Rhode IslandPage Overview
Duplicate Registrations, Stickers, and License Plates in Rhode Island
If your vehicle registration card, registration decals, or license plates have been lost, stolen, or damaged, you should request replacements from the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as soon as you can.
Driving without your current registration certificate, license plate stickers, or license plates can put you at a high risk of receiving traffic citations and fines. If any of your documents are damaged/mutilated beyond recognition, you may face the same citations and fines.
On this page you'll find an overview of how to request replacement vehicle registration documents.
NOTE: If any of your registration items were stolen, you should also contact your local law enforcement agency to report the theft and file a police report.
Rhode Island requires proof of registration, so if yours has been lost or damaged, it should always be a priority to replace it. Take the following steps to get a duplicate:
- Fill out an Application for Registration and Title Certificate (Form TR-1). Make sure you sign it.
- Have the application form notarized, either at the RI DMV or elsewhere.
- Make sure your car insurance information is accurate and complete.
- Include the $18.50 for your duplicate registration. Checks should be made payable to Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles.
- Send completed materials to the following address:
- Division of Motor Vehicles
- Attn: Registration Duplicate
- 600 New London Ave.
- Cranston, RI 02920
You can also visit your DMV office to finish the transaction. Call ahead to make sure they have the registration capabilities.
Unfortunately, losing one or both plates isn't an uncommon occurrence. To get replacement license plates, you'll actually have to cancel the plates and registration by filling out an Application for Registration and Title Certificate (Form TR-1). You may also need a police report number, which you can get by filing a report to your local law enforcement agency, if your license plates were stolen.
Once you've paid the $31.50 fee, the Rhode Island DMV will provide you with new plates, new registration, and new expiration stickers.
Division of Motor Vehicles
License and Registration Office
600 New London Ave.
Cranston, RI 02920
NOTE: You must surrender both license plates to get new ones. Otherwise, the Rhode Island DMV will process the transaction as lost plates and require you to provide a police report number.
If your registration stickers are damaged, or if someone has tried to pull them off your license plates, you can get new ones simply by bringing in your registration card to a Rhode Island DMV branch. Bring your current Rhode Island driver's license and proof of insurance.
If you have any questions about requesting replacements or specific questions about your vehicle's registration, you should contact the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog Check and Car Inspection
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸