Renewing Your License in Rhode IslandCompare Car Insurance Quotes in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:Page Overview
To maintain your status as a legal driver, you must renew your driver's license every 5 years, or 2 years if you are 75 years old or older. In Rhode Island, you may renew:
- In person.
In addition to a license, you're also required to carry car insurance. If you're a first-time driver, or, perhaps, someone looking for lower premiums, consider visiting our insurance center for a list of national providers.
If you're unsure whether your license is valid or not, take the time to order a driving record report. You must renew your full operator's license or motorcycle license every 5 years or 2 years in person at any Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) location.
NOTE: If you're a commercial driver, visit our CDL section on how to renew your license.
You won't be charged with a fine for renewing an expired license, but you will face a high-priced citation if caught by the police driving with an expired license. If you need help determining the status of your license, either check the date printed on your license, or order a driving record report.
You cannot renew a license that has been expired for 5 years or longer. Instead, you must retake the written and road exams.
If you need an update on the current status of your suspended license, consider ordering a driving record report.
To get reinstated, you must meet with a hearing officer and pay all required reinstatement, court, and renewal fees. After reinstatement you'll probably discover that your insurance rates have spiked significantly. If such is the case, you may want to consider finding a new insurance provider.
For more detailed information, visit our suspended license page.
Has your license disappeared? Visit our Lost License page for how to apply for a duplicate.
You should receive a renewal form in the mail prior to the expiration date on your driver's license.
Don't fret if you don't receive a renewal notice. If one does not arrive, just bring in your expiring license with you when you go to renew.
You can renew your license online as long as:
- You are NOT renewing a commercial driver's license.
- Your license is valid, or has been expired for 180 days or less.
Visit the Rhode Island DMV's online license renewal service. You'll need:
- Your renewal notice or current driver's license.
- A credit card to pay your fee.
- A printer for your receipt, which will act as your temporary license.
Your renewal should be processed within 3 business days, and you can expect to receive your license in the mail within 60 days.
Visit any DMV location and bring with you:
- Your expiring license and/or renewal notice.
- A completed Application for License, Identification Card and Permits (Form LI-1).
- A credit card or check to pay your renewal fee.
You will receive a temporary license, and your permanent license will be mailed to you. If your permanent license does not arrive in the mail within 45 days, call (401) 462-5862.
Regardless of your age or driving record, you should always consider enrolling in a supplemental traffic school course to keep up to date on the current road rules. This will not only keep you behind-the-wheel sharp, but, maybe, also lower your insurance premiums.
If your current carrier doesn't acknowledge traffic schools, you may want to consider shopping for a new one at our Insurance Center.Other Topics in This SectionOrgan Donation Survey
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸