Motorcycle Manual in Rhode IslandPass Your Test with DMV Cheat Sheets
Get answers, save time and pass your motorcycle written test the first time around. DMV Cheat Sheets also offers:
- Steps to getting your license
- 50 essential study-guide questions
- Traffic signs and signals
Simply print and pass or your money back guaranteed.Page Overview
- Motorcycle Instruction in Rhode Island
- Apply for a Motorcycle License
- RI Driver's Manual
- Related Content
Verified As Of: 05/09/2015?Our goal is to give you the most up-to-date, accurate information about your state DMV's processes. The date you see here reflects the most recent time we've verified this information with your state DMV. When they change something, we do, too!SUMMARY: Rhode Island Motorcycle ManualKeep reading for more information about the instructional alternative to a motorcycle manual in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island requires that all new motorcycle license applicants complete a rider safety course. The course presents the information you'd usually find in a motorcycle manual. You'll find information about RI traffic rules and regulations in the driver's handbook.
The Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires ALL new motorcycle license applicants to complete a motorcycle rider course.
Since you'll learn everything you need in the course, the RI DMV DOES NOT offer a motorcycle manual on its website.
NOTE: You DO NOT have to take the course if you have a motorcycle license from another state.
Motorcycles rider courses are organized by the Community College of Rhode Island (CCRI) system and include both classroom AND riding instruction.
NOTE: You MUST have a valid driver's license to take the RI motorcycle course.
Motorcycle Course Structure
To get a motorcycle permit in Rhode Island, you'll need to complete the Basic Rider Course (BRC).
The BRC lasts 16 1/2 hours and includes:
- 6 1/2 hours of classroom instruction.
- 2 sessions of riding range instruction that last 5 hours each.
Motorcycles are provided by the program.
See the BRC website or call (401) 825-1214 for additional information, such as:
- Course fees.
- How to register.
- Required materials.
If you need a review of motorcycle operation or you want to learn more about riding a motorcycle, the CCRI offers classes for experienced riders.
You can take these classes ONLY if you already have a valid motorcycle license.
To learn more, see the CCRI website.
You'll first get a motorcycle permit valid for 18 months.
After you've had your motorcycle permit for at least 30 days, you can return to the Rhode Island DMV office to get your motorcycle license.
Learn more about the application process on our RI Motorcycle License page.
You can read and review the RI driver's manual if you:
- Do not yet have a RI driver's license.
- You need to brush up on traffic laws and rules.
The driver's manual covers topics like:
- Basic road safety.
- Road signs.
- Defensive driving techniques.
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol/drugs.
If you are applying for a RI driver's license, you'll need to pass a knowledge test based on the information found in the manual.Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:Recommended ArticlesOther Topics in This Section