Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Rhode Island
The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) insists that all motorcycle operators have a current motorcycle insurance policy before they operate their cycles. Motorcycle riding can lead to costly accidents, and the DMV must have some level of assurance that you're up to handling the financially responsibility.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
You can comply with the state's mandate with a policy that includes bodily insurance and property damage coverage that meets the state's minimum requirements.
Two-Wheeled Vehicles Defined
Confused whether your cycle qualifies as a motorcycle under state law? Call the DMV at (401) 462-4368 for more information.
Or, read how the state defines the following vehicles:
- Motorized bicycle―A two-wheeled vehicle that can't reach speeds of over 30 MPH on a flat surface; it can be propelled by human power, motor power, or both.
- Motor Scooter―A motor-driven cycle with a cylinder capacity of less than 50 cc that can't reach speeds of over 30 MPH on a flat surface; it can only be propelled by motor power. The vehicle's motor must be no more than 4.9 hp.
If your two-wheeled vehicle exceeds these limits, the DMV will likely consider it to be a motorcycle.
Rhode Island Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Your motorcycle insurance policy must include at least the following levels and types of protection to be in accord with state law:
- $25,000 of bodily injury coverage for injuries or death occurring to one person in an accident
- $50,000 of bodily injury coverage for injuries or deaths occurring to 2 or more people in an accident
- $25,000 of property damage coverage per accident
These are just the minimum requirements. As you are getting a motorcycle insurance quote, consider higher levels of protection to help safeguard your assets and protect your financial health.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
Your insurance coverage won't affect helmet requirements.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Your insurer will notify the DMV if your policy has lapsed or been canceled.
But, it's up to you to maintain proof of insurance, and show it whenever necessary. You can do this by keeping your insurance card in your vehicle at all times.
Motorcycle Insurance Violations
If you have no proof of insurance, you may face penalties including:
For more information about the penalties and how to take care of them, contact the DMV at (401) 462-4368.
You should also note that insurance violations typically lead to increases in insurance rates. You may see the price of your motorcycle insurance premium go up after a violation.
Additionally, you may find it more difficult to find an insurance provider willing to cover you.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!